Are We Living on The Edge of The World?

Larry G. Maguire
The Sunday Letters Journal
2 min readNov 9, 2020

--

I don’t aim to polarise when I write.

My intention is not to inflame passions or raise anger. I might shine a light on some social disturbance or other occasionally, but I like to add perspective, some balance when I do.

Most of the time, anyway. At least that’s what I think I do.

Regardless, I don’t allow things to get too heated around here, and if you’ve been reading me for a while you know that.

You see, most of us are polarised, and we live in a polarised society.

We are a species living on the edge of the world — on the edge of something. Sometimes we approach the middle but only if we are hungry, thirsty, tired, angry or horny.

The enemy is on the other edge, and meeting them in the middle is not really a runner under conditions where our basic human needs have been met.

On the edge of the world things are simple.

There are rules so that you don’t fall off or be eaten up by some scary monster. Follow the rules and you’ll do alright, or maybe you won’t, but at least it’s better than being over there with them.

If only you could get rid of them…

Often in my mind, I take a trip. Into outer space I go and hover for a while above the earth. It’s…

--

--

Larry G. Maguire
The Sunday Letters Journal

Work Psychologist & lecturer writing on the human relationship with work | Unworking | Future of Work | Leadership | Wellbeing | Performance | larrygmaguire.com