Photo by Glenn Carstens-Peters / Unsplash

Before I Die, I Want to…

Deborah Kristina
The Reflector
Published in
3 min readJun 28, 2017

--

Walking around Astana, Kazakhstan, I noticed a huge art piece at a park that began with the words, “Before I die, I want to…” in Kazakh, Russian and English (with all of the spaces filled in in Russian as Russian is the still the first language of most Kazakhs).

I would like to confess that before I die, I want to find a way to see my writing become famous that I could possibly become a household name (I don’t mind dreaming big).

Before I die, I want to cover as many miles in the world as I possibly can with my stuffed koala (even when conditions are rough and sadden me deeply).

Before I die, I want to try as many local specialties in every country (I’ll always be a foodie even when my metabolism will decrease when my hair’s all gray and my hands and arms covered in spots).

Before I die, I want to go on foot in as many places as I can manage to visit (even with my bunions, I still drag myself because walking always gives me the feeling that I’m free).

Before I die, I want to see if I could finally see without wearing any glasses as I am interested in getting LASIK sometime in my forties or fifties (I’ll still be young then to enjoy moving around with new vision. I don’t think anything would stop me then).

Before I die, I want to hear as many sad and/or tragic stories as people are willing to give me (Confidentiality is guaranteed; in fact, I’m not one to blab anyway. I’m like a treasure chest that upon first sight people don’t think I have anything inside at all).

Before I die, I want to see if there’s any way that I can prevent my skin from being tanned (I don’t want to be tanned especially when I associate being tanned with how I was treated in China and from Chinese people when I encounter them sometimes).

Before I die, I want to finally reach a point when I no longer anger easily.

Before I die, I want to see how many people I knew before come back into my life just to see what has become of them since our last conversation.

Before I die, I want to find happiness in what I do for a living.

Before I die, I want to see how many people I end up helping especially as I age.

Before I die, I want to see how much horrific behavior I am able to tolerate (I don’t know if this is possible since I easily take things personally and have pretty thin skin).

Before I die, I want to remember all of the African capitals and flags (I can remember European, Asian, Latin American capitals… I have to remember African capitals! I still need to remember a lot of flags).

Before I die, I want to be more proficient in other languages (at least, start off with reading and writing them since reading and writing are my strengths much more than speaking).

Before I die, I want to find my best friend.

Before I die, I want to feel relaxed enough to not let people’s wrongdoings get to me so much, that fate can’t be controlled.

Before I die, I want to know that I’ve made less enemies than friends.

Before I die, I want to have learned the history of most countries in the world.

Before I die, I want to have experienced mutual love at least a couple of times.

Before I die, I want to know that my mother and brother are mentally okay.

Before I die, I want to leave something valuable for anyone who manages to win my heart behind.

Before I die, I want to feel confident that my stuffed koala will also be okay.

Before I die, I want to know that my life has been mostly consciously clear than not.

--

--

Deborah Kristina
The Reflector

Author of ‘A Girl All Alone Somewhere in the World’, ‘Confessions and Thoughts of a Girl in Turkey’, ‘From Just a Girl Grown Up in America’. (Amazon.com)