Photo via Dingzeyu Li / Unsplash

Insisting On Showing My Worst Self

Deborah Kristina
The Reflector
Published in
2 min readAug 17, 2017

--

I don’t mind revealing a lot of my worst self, the not-so-good parts of me in public at times. I don’t mind revealing this side to probably anyone one-on-one. I wish everyone could stop putting up a facade that each of us are above being human when we are with certain people, or else why do all of us feel that we have to impress almost everyone we meet?

I walk around knowing that I know right from wrong and the reasons why I do anything, being carefully conscious with every action I take with people especially with those I see regularly. As time goes by, I just feel like following my own interests and instinct not worrying much about others’ offense because I know by now that no one has really understood me; they create their own understanding without confirming it.

It’s best to be free of what others’ misinterpret.

Understanding takes time and it’s an art, really.

I’m at a point where I believe people generally aren’t comfortable around each other to actively understand humanity enough to know that we extremely flawed.

I like to remember that I’m as flawed as those that don’t meaningfully interpret me.

Don’t think so much on those who misunderstand your behavior or words or tone. Just know that their not interpreting you right makes them at fault more than you because they don’t communicate, they don’t find out if their interpretation is anywhere near true.

I keep in mind that even when communication is exchanged and the person still chooses to understand me wrongly then, again, I remember that everyone is so flawed that everyone is misunderstood and everyone misunderstands. When someone chooses to understand me in a way that ruins our connection then I have to accept that what has happened happened and keep living.

--

--

Deborah Kristina
The Reflector

Author of ‘A Girl All Alone Somewhere in the World’, ‘Confessions and Thoughts of a Girl in Turkey’, ‘From Just a Girl Grown Up in America’. (Amazon.com)