Predictably Irrational

jte253@nyu.edu
The Refresh
Published in
5 min readNov 20, 2015

In Predictably Irrational, Dan Ariely discusses how people value different experiences differently, and people will do things for free in certain circumstances, that otherwise they would expect payment for. He uses the example of offering your mother- in –law money for the Thanksgiving dinner she cooked, because she had bought and cooked the food that she gave him to eat, and in a restaurant you would pay for the same service. (In the book’s hypothetical, the mother in law was horrified.) I decided to do an experiment testing how people react to being offered money for doing something that they would normally be paid for.

Experiment

As a graduate journalism student taking four classes, and a few workshops, who dislikes lugging around a laptop, I am always carrying books and papers. I decided to drop these things “accidentally,” in crowded areas, and when people around me started to help me pick them up, I would offer them money for helping me recover my things, and “cleaning” up my mess. As I planned my attack, I thought about Ariely’s example of his mother in law. I decided to also use this experiment on people that I already had relationships with, such as my boyfriend, mother, and brother, and my “mother in law,” (my boyfriends mother, who had ironically just invited me over for dinner, not turkey though).

Idea

I thought that there would not be much a difference between strangers and those close to me, and that they would both turn down an offer of cash for the services they provided. I hypothesized that if there was a difference, it would be because more strangers would want payment for providing a service to someone they didn’t know, as opposed to people close to me that would gladly do me favors out of kindness, love, or some sort of ingrained family/friend responsibility.

I decided that I would offer an undetermined amount of money, asking my subjects how much they wanted for the service, to see what they thought was a fair price, if any.

Results

I dropped my books and papers around New York University, and on the subway, four times. This is group A.

First, I dropped my papers outside of Bobst library. Some people looked and no one jumped to help. I feared my experiment was an immediate fail. Until a gust of fall wind blew some of my papers, and two students ran to grab them for me. I thanked them and then asked them how much they wanted for helping me clean up my mess. They both stared at me, and one of them finally said, “what?” confused. I again asked, but adding more detail, how much money did they want in return for helping me clean up my things. One of the students said nothing and the other said, “its fine, don’t worry about it.”

The second time I dropped my things, four people began to help me, one immediately, and the other three seemed to observe the first running after my papers, and then decided to help. I pushed further this time, and asked one of the girls to hold the stack of recovered papers while I tried to organize them. She obliged, and then laughed when I offered payment in return for her services. Did she think I was kidding?

The third time, near my favorite coffee store, City of Saints, I asked the guy that helped to gather my things how much I owed him , and he forcefully said, “nothing.” I then told him that was a bargain because if were to pay for someone to help me clean up my mess, it would have cost a lot. He gave me a look and frowned at me and walked away without a word.

The fourth time, on the subway, as a Spanish speaking woman picked up my finance textbook and a stray paper, and put the paper into the textbook, where it had been before I dropped it. I smiled at her and she maintained her expressionless gaze as she handed me the book. I thanked her and asked her how much she wanted. She looked offended, but I also was not sure how well she grasped the English language.

Now to family and friends. I also asked four people that I knew to do something for me and then asked what they wanted me to pay for their service- group B.

My mother took my laundry out of the washer and put it into the dryer. Laundering services charge per pound, and I had a large amount of clothes in that wash. I thought my mother, being a loving parent supposedly, would turn down an offer of payment for the laundering service. Instead, she said her price was me going to the store to pick up more detergent.

My boyfriend cooked me dinner and packed me a good lunch to take to school. I assumed this was out of the goodness of his heart and his wish not to see me starve during my long hours slaving over assignments for our student publication, The Refresh. I was wrong. When asked how much I owed him for the dinner and take out lunch, he asked if I could cook him dinner that night.

My “mother-in-law,” did not get offended like Ariely’s MOL in his scenario, as I had feared. Thank goodness. She had made the dinner that I ate at her house, and poured me a few glasses of wine. Food and waiter service. When I asked what I owed for the dinner, as she was pouring me some wine, she said, nothing, but you will help me clean, right? Another barter. This experiment was costing me a lot of time and service.

My brother was the only one that did not ask for a payment or barter. He joked that I owed him my soul for him helping me move my bed to vacuum behind it, and did not ask for anything further. At least I think it was a joke.

Findings Summary

Group A, the strangers, behaved irrationally, but predictably, according to the chapter on payment for services, in Ariely’s book. They all declined payment, for doing things that normally, people would expect to be paid for. They helped me clean when my papers blew around, and fell on the ground. They cooked for me, did laundry and helped me move furniture. Strangers helped me completely for free,while friends and family, who a I expected to help me for free, out of friendship and love, asked for favors and help in return.

--

--

jte253@nyu.edu
The Refresh

Jacqueline Elkort:born&raised in NY. Writes about& interested in politics, social media,business,video journalism,music, sports,retail,travel,