Leveraging struggles & potential to grow higher capacity & greater health in myself, my community, and the world — by Brad Lancaster

Photo: Brad Lancaster
Reproduced with permission from Rainwater Harvesting for Drylands and Beyond, Volume 2, 2nd Edition

In thirty minutes, before the sun rises, I will be breaking holes in the asphalt on the edge of one of my neighborhood’s sun-baked alleys to expose a few pockets of soil in the otherwise all-paved environment.

I’m going to transplant native food-bearing tree seedlings into these pot holes I’m making. I want them to be life holes that can contribute to life wholes.

My dream is that this alley (all alleys, all streets, all walkways) become life corridors shaded by living canopies irrigated freely and solely with the stormwater running off the adjoining hardscapes/pavedscapes into the sponge-like lifescapes.

Keep reading this piece from Brad Lancaster, editor Karryn Olson, and the Regenerative Economy Collaborative at Brad’s Medium.

--

--

Carol Sanford
The Regenerative Economy Collaborative

Sr Fellow Social Innovation, Babson |# 1 AmazonBest Selling/Multi-Award Winning Author | Regenerative Paradigm Educator