Peter (The End)

Jessie Banhazl
The Regulars
Published in
4 min readFeb 28, 2024

By Sara Hogan and Jessie Banhazl

Name: Peter

Bar: The End

Age: 71

Drink: Schlitz and a shot of Jack Daniels, or the “Old Greek”

Crammed into the row of bars on the 200 block of Congress Street in Portland, you’ll find The End. Heavily decorated and dimly lit, this small and welcoming spot features beer and shot combos, craft cocktails, walls packed with concert posters alongside works by local artists, a playlist of mostly hard rock and classic metal, and customers ranging in age from 21 to 75. Yeah, it’s across the street from the Eastern Cemetery, but The End is a lively place.

Since opening about a year ago, The End has been well received by neighborhood residents and all who visit, largely due to the presence of co-owner Ben “Bazi” Sawyer. A seasoned Portland bartender, Ben has settled in at The End, providing a level of service that is highly sought out by those looking for good music, good conversation, and an equally good drink. On any given night, you may walk in and soon find yourself in conversation with one of The End’s regulars, Peter, a wizardly hard rocker with a past that fits in well with the surroundings.

How did you end up at The End?

I live in this neighborhood now. I’m from Boston originally, but I moved here in 2000. I put on a pair of boots and a wool hat one day and said, I will exist with human beings, and I have since.

I used to go out with no particular destination of gratification or bottom line, that is my retreat. I saw this beautiful dim lit place that looked comforting to enter. Come in, the bartender said. And I came in! I was very graciously presented with the reward and receptiveness of a man behind the bar. I’ve been in many different establishments, and this one has so much to offer. When you come here, you’ll find yourself awakened by your interactions with the other customers. People are separated from the anxiety of their daily routines, you can share openly.

What do you do for work?

I’m a damn good cook. I guess “Chef” would be the category. I started cooking with my uncles in Brighton, MA in 1967. I was a kid (when I started) and I used to mop the floors, then I cooked breakfast. That diner taught me more about cooking than any one culinary institute could have ever taught me because I can work up, you know, concoctions that will be unbelievably tasteful and the delight of the taste buds that will be stimulated to the point of ecstasy.

How did you end up as a private chef for rock bands?

I got in the game because I was a bouncer at The Rathskeller in Boston. I was introduced to an agent that asked if I wanted to go on the road with Jonathan Edwards, which I did. The agent ended up representing Aerosmith. I started as security for them. There was a place where the band’s road manager and the roadies lived. Before they went on tour, they all congregated at the house. I used to cook dinner for everyone there. That is how I got the gig as the tour chef.

I worked for Aerosmith in the early years, around 1977. Then they went out on tour and I stayed and did some work for Night Train and Duke and the Drivers. When Steven Tyler had his, you know, confusions of existence, I worked for Joe Perry’s solo project which was around 1980. When I was touring with Joe, it was irritating for him to be on the road. It was not the same thing from back when he was playing Boston Garden. The food (I was cooking) was important to him at that time. There was a community. All the roadies would join in, too. It was joyous.

What did Aerosmith like to eat?

They loved their ribs, baby! Joe has a tendency to enjoy a parmigiano, or linguini with oregano and mozzarell and a hint of garlic, not too much garlic, ha!

Why do you keep coming back to The End?

When I first came, I was watching Ben demonstrate his abilities, and I was like, “well, you are a Mixologist, or whatever!” and he was like, “No, I’m a bartender,” and that’s when I fell in love with the place. Also, I’ve been to many other establishments, and this one has so much to offer in the humanity-factor. When you come in, you’ll meet people that will awaken the intellectualism in others, which I find very different from other establishments.

What do you like to drink?

Jack Daniels. But I will tell you about my concoction for the heat of the summer — Ben made it, and it’s called the “Old Greek”. Jack, coconut, soda and lime. It’s soooo soothing, but it still gives me the kick.

--

--

Jessie Banhazl
The Regulars

Jessie Banhazl is a bartender, entrepreneur, and sometimes writer based in Portland, Maine