Our Fave Sports Fan of the Week: Christin Rose

#FFOTW

Alexa Jaccarino
The Relish
3 min readAug 11, 2016

--

Christin Rose is a photographer whose latest project, #ShePlaysWeWin, highlights the trials and triumphs of young female athletes, like Sky Brown, a 7-year-old skateboarding sensation; 14-year-old Hailie Deegan, who has NASCAR dreams, or 11-year-old jiu jitsu star Akira Bua.

#ShePlaysWeWin creator Christin Rose. Image via Instagram

Rose created #ShePlaysWeWin, which has now grown into a bona fide movement (including a partnership with Under Armour!), as a way to give back through her craft. And there’s no better way to do that than empowering today’s sports-playing female youth. Who may or may not, someday, win a gold medal or two… Truly: when #ShePlaysWeWin.

Without further ado (more ado from me at the bottom of the post), meet photographer Christin Rose:

What is your first sports memory?

Being on the field with my dad, who was a college football coach. I am pretty sure I had a pom-pom in one hand and a football in the other!

What is your favorite sports tradition?

“Take Me Out to the Ball Game,” baby!! The 7th inning stretch, of course :)

A photo from Christin Rose’s badass #ShePlaysWeWin photo series/social movement!

What is your favorite sports moment ever?

Oh, I have so many, but this one always sticks out: Mo’ne Davis becoming the first female pitcher to win the Little League World Series, in 2014! #ShePlaysWeWin!!!! How cool is that?! She’s absolutely amazing.

Which sports figure would you name your child or pet after?

I think it would be kinda cool to name a girl Jackie. Jackie Robinson is my all-time favorite — would be awesome to carry his legacy, but for a girl!

How do you take your hot dog?

Haha, oh man. I really am a burger girl, but I when I was little I would do “fantail dogs” with ketchup & relish (of course!).

What is your at-bat/walk-up song?

This is my favorite question. I have to go with “I Feel Good” by James Brown! Pumps me up.

…now here’s just a little more ’ado from me, the author:

As some controversial coverage of the Olympics this week has reinforced, the culture of sports is still incredibly male-dominated, be it the players we glorify on the field, the reporters who tell their stories and report the scores, or the unequal language used to speak about what are sometimes exactly the same achievements.

The more young girls can see the Gabby Douglases, Katie Ledeckys, Serena Williamses, and Alexa Morenos of the world achieving, the more likely they’ll be to stick with their teams too. And that’s the kind of overexposure we can get on board with.

#ShePlaysWeWin, by Christin Rose

Hey, also follow along on Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter.

--

--