Riding the Waive + Match-Ups to Exploit and Avoid in Week 7

And why I owe a few of you an apology…

Michelle Burrell
The Relish
4 min readOct 20, 2016

--

Mike Ehrmann/Getty

The last time we spoke, I was a little trigger happy about Marcus Mariota. Boy, oh boy was I wrong and I’ve never been so happy to be wrong in my life! That’s probably because our boy Marcus was still available on the waivers in two of the three leagues I dropped him in, and I was able to pick him up again. If you dropped Marcus and didn’t have my luck, I may or may not owe you my first born child. However, since I still kind of have first dibs on my first born, I’ll start by hooking you all up with some waiver targets who are going to sizzle in Week 7, as well as a few matchups to avoid and exploit this week.

Jack Doyle

Don’t walk, but RUN to the waivers to grab Indianapolis Colts’ tight end Jack Doyle for Week 7. When Dwayne Allen went down with a sprained ankle against the Houston Texans, Jack stepped in with 53 receiving yards and a touchdown. Jack was already stealing catches from Allen, and has outscored him in Fantasy four total weeks already. Jack is currently owned in 20% of Yahoo leagues and 12.6% of NFL leagues.

Kenny Britt

Everyone in LA wants to see a quarterback change from Case Keenum to top draft pick Jared Goff, but one person who isn’t complaining is Rams’ wide receiver Kenny Britt. Britt is my top target this week in PPR leagues and Standard leagues because he is the number one wide receiver for the Rams. Last week, Britt took advantage of a great matchup in the Detroit Lions defense for 136 receiving yards and a pair of touchdowns. Yes, those numbers are old news, but this week he will face a Giants defense that is allowing 274 receiving yards per game, and following a Week 8 bye, Britt will face the Panthers, Jets, Dolphins and the Saints who all rank in the top half of yards allowed to receivers. In other words, he is going to go off! Grab Britt and start him. He’s currently owned in 46% of Yahoo leagues and 21% of NFL leagues

Match-Ups to Exploit

Lamar Miller (RB) vs. Denver Broncos

Yep, I’m starting with Miller against my beloved Broncos. As much as it pains me to say this, the Broncos can’t stop the run like I can’t stop binge watching Stranger Things on Netflix. The past two weeks, the Broncos have given up two touchdowns and 314 total yards to three different running backs. Start Lamar Miller.

Allen Robinson (WR), Allen Hurns (WR), Blake Bortles (QB), TJ Yeldon (RB), Julius Thoms (TE) vs. Oakland Raiders

The Raiders are still last in passing defense, so I’m still starting anyone who is high on the depth chart in their respective positions against them. They are are also still allowing 132 rushing yards per game.

Kirk Cousins (QB), Jamison Crowder (WR), Jordan Reed (TE) vs. Detroit Lions

The Detroit Lions have allowed 17 passing touchdowns this season and that’s the most in the NFL. I’m starting Kirk Cousins this week in that league I couldn’t get Mariota back. If tight end Jordan Reed is ready to play after suffering a concussion, get him in the lineup too.

Match-Ups to Avoid

Ryan Tannehill (QB), Jarvis Landry (WR), DeVante Parker (WR) vs. Buffalo Bills

The Buffalo Bills have quietly allowed just three passing touchdowns through six weeks of football. I don’t like the odds against Tannehill and his receiving corps.

Carson Palmer (QB), John Brown (WR), Michael Floyd (WR) vs. Seattle Seahawks

This season I drafted all three of these guys because I had high expectations. Figuring out who to start between Palmer, Brown and Floyd has been a headache week after week. This week I’ll get a break from the dilemma since the Seattle Seahawks have only allowed four receiving touchdowns this season, so it’s a given I’m running and hiding from the elite Seahawks defense. Join me.

Jordan Howard (RB) vs. Green Bay Packers

Ezekiel Elliott was able to crack open the Packers defense in Week 6 for 157 rushing yards. Don’t expect the same from Bears’ running back Jordan Howard. The Packers have only allowed one rushing touchdown this season.

You’ve Been Warned

Russell Wilson (QB), Doug Baldwin (WR), Jimmy Graham (TE) vs. Arizona Cardinals

The Arizona Cardinals defense made Ryan Fitzpatrick and the gang look so bad in Week 6 that the Jets decided to make a quarterback change to Geno Smith. The Cardinals are only allowing 191 passing yards per game to quarterbacks.

Sports served up fresh in your inbox, on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter. Follow along!

--

--

Michelle Burrell
The Relish

I love sports, chihuahuas run my life, and I’m currently working on my addiction to hot cheetos.