Preface : Welcome to The Retrospective.

The Retro
The Retro
Published in
3 min readJul 8, 2020

“I’m bored, got anything to do? Seriously this pandemic is really something”

“I don’t know, I just thought I wanted to improve the way I speak and write in english, I’m bad at it”

“And I want to explore & learn more about product & design”

“Yeah cool me too. Wait, why don’t we just start a project? Let’s start a blog, publish some product content, written in english??”

“That’s.. actually not a bad idea! We can share our story, experience, or even things we have learned and things that caught our interest, okay let’s do it”

“Ok, now what?”

“First, let’s brain storm some brand name ideas for our publication”

And that, is the story of how The Retrospective began.

Say Hi!

Welcome to The Retrospective, a medium publication for product people, made by product people. Retrospective ( re: /ˌretrəˈspektiv/ ) is looking back on or dealing with past events or situations. Yup, that’s what the dictionary said about it. But what does it really means?

If you’re a product people, you must be familiar with sprint Retrospective, a regular activity at the end of every sprint to inspect and evaluate every work the team has done. This tradition is simple yet essential to improve the communication, the way of work, and the culture inside a team. It is a great opportunity for both team & personal development, to get better and better in every sprint.

Reflect, learn, & grow. The Retrospective was created passionately for product people who either have been in the digital product world for years or newcomers who are eager to know more about product. As for the creators, The Retrospective will be a medium to tell stories, journeys, and experiences about career & personal development.

Letters From Creators

Time to introduce the creators, this publication was created by Firzan Aulia and Keisha S R

Firzan Aulia

hola! I am a designer with skills across user experience, user interfaces, and with knowledge in business management. Yupp … I am a graduate from business management. I’m interested in the world of design from elementary school, starting when I made a piet mondrian in paint.exe lol. Based on my 2.5 years of experience in product design, I got a lot of lessons about leadership, product development, to product design itself. many interesting stories behind when I work or make a product, I hope to inspire from here.

Keisha S R

Hi! I’m an associate project manager in a startup company based in Bandung. I came from an Industrial Engineering background with interests in the world of Tech & Product. I never thought I would go through this career path when I graduated from uni, it was a long journey finding out what I want to do in career, but hey I am enjoying every part of it. But then again, the journey is still a long way to go, there are still plenty of things to learn. I hope The Retrospective can be the right place for me to express my interests and to inspire others. Cheers to all long life learner out there!

--

--