2022: A Year for Self-Love

Emanuel H. Brown
The Reverb
Published in
12 min readJan 17, 2022
Photo 193701977 / Self Love © Khosrork | Dreamstime.com

We’re all holding so much — and as we move into 2022, I know the New Year sparkle can feel hard to reach. But I have always viewed this time as an opportunity to remind myself of the practices helping me get free. Instead of resolutions, I use this time to reaffirm my commitment to personal liberation. And this year, the call came for self-love. Self-love is the energy I give myself to become my own hero. It gives me permission to be curious with my story, and embrace all of who I have been.

When was the last time you gave space to all parts of yourself?

The parts we celebrate must meet the moments we hide. By keeping the parts we may find ugly, disgraceful, or shameful in the shadows, we limit our potential to experience the deep healing that wholeness can provide. We don’t have to like it all, but we do need to love it all!

I have wept uncontrollably with my 7 year old, gotten geeky with my 11 year old and most recently, have been reconnecting with the anger of my 20 year old. My younger selves are teaching me the power of tenderness, surrender and receiving. The more I offer to them, the more I release perfectionism, grind culture, and the need to prove myself. This practice of self — love has given me courage, compassion, and renewed joy.

I invite you to use this writing practice as a beginning place to love yourself deeper. On the surface, it is simple: write three letters from the perspective of your younger self, your self now, and you in the future. These letters can stand alone, or be in conversation with each other; make them your own. You may want to set a space for each letter with music that resonates with the ages you choose. Bringing in books, photos, stones, etc. can help you get connected to who you were, are, and will be. Set a time limit of one hour per letter.

After you finish writing, come back to the letters over the course week, or month, or year. Notice your body, breath, and spirit as you read. How is relating to each age changing you in the present? Bring the letters into your other practices, and see what medicine you can offer all the parts of you.

I offer my most recent iteration of this practice as a model. I am grateful to the parts of me that made themselves known and for those of you who will be brave to try this for yourself.

December 15, 2021

Hello 20 Year Old Me,

Every time I attempt to talk with you the words get caught in my throat, bones, and breath. The truth is I have done my best to forget all about you. To push you down into a place, where no one would ever find you, especially me. You were too weak for me, allowing your heart to be molded by the lies you were fed. Your presence doesn’t fit into my current image of being a highly capable, driven and passionate person. You were caught up in the mire of recovering from a life of trauma. You played out the dramas of every episode of 90210, yet you were not coming to some empowered conclusion. You were an open wound, unsure of almost everything. You thought your toughness, aloofness and scrappiness hid these flaws — I am not so sure. My memory sees you like driftwood battered by the ocean, pleading to be rescued.

And there is the heart of my discontent with you. You wanted to be rescued. You wanted someone to realize you were bleeding out, and then cauterize the wound. You longed for arms to hold you as you became ash. You wanted to stop all of it — school, work, being — and just allow your Spirit a reprieve from having to constantly do. You fell prey to the moments of tenderness offered to you, turning them into patterns of longing we are still trying to break. You began to write a new script casting us as a victim, ugly, and undeserving. You were convinced you could suppress yourself into a new mold. You created the steel walls in the front of my chest, so I couldn’t feel love unencumbered. You were the one who decided shutting down my sexuality, pleasure and desires was necessary. You were the one that metabolized our queerness as shame, and locked us into a story of loneliness. It was YOU.

You were the weakest of me. The part of me that can still emerge when my threads are at the point of breaking. You have an uncanny knack for creating chaos, for plunging me into your timeline, and disrupting my process. So, I am writing you this letter to ask you to stop. To get whatever you need without making me pay for your immaturity. I have suffered through your impatience, rash behavior, and idealistic nature enough, haven’t I?

Sincerely,

Me at 40

December 15, 2001

Dear Me at 40,

I wish I could be mad at you. That I could feel the hot ball of rage growing in the pit of my stomach. The idea that I would have access to any of the things you wrote me about is almost laughable. Nothing has prepared me for being 20 and alone. I am trying to be normal! This world of whiteness and wealth seems so foreign, and every day they find ways to remind me that I am the anomaly. If it isn’t the music blasting on the car radio for the midnight run for breakfast, it is the way everyone else seems to be quickly acculturated to Western Thought. So, yeah, I am feeling more than a little lost and grabbing just about anything to be rescued.

I can feel glimpses of you at times, scouring at me from the distance of your evolution. But I am not sure you can see me. My breath is labored, my heart is heavy, and my body is tired. Sometimes, all I can do is make it through the day of classes, work, and trying to be normal. I am eating myself from the inside out, hiding my queerness daily. I am living just to survive. Yes, I fell in love with the wrong person. The only lessons I learned about love were wrapped in a ball of utility, escape, and abuse. This first time has replicated that in more ways than I can feel. I allowed it to consume me. It didn’t feel like a choice but a compulsion to feel anything, like everything else. When I was with her it was a reprieve from all the places I felt lost. I permitted myself to be seen as something more than broken. Her touch rescued me. You see that as weakness. I call it survival. Maybe we are both wrong.

Sincerely

Me at 20

February 15, 2041

Dear Me at 20,

I remembered your laughter for the first time the other day. I apologize for the times I blamed you for our shame. I see the wisdom in your strategies of shutdown, hiding, and pretending. You were protecting the most cherished parts of us from destruction. I understand you were living through the heartbreak of betrayals you had not yet learned to name. My anger has receded, and daily I practice just beholding you: your awkward femininity, your prayerful supplications, and your willingness to love when you didn’t know how. There is something about your innocence, despite all you have faced, that I admire. You constantly remind me to begin again.

I am here to rescue you, to tend to your wounds, and rock you in my arms. You conjured me as your safe place to rage, cry, and remember. Your weakness taught me humility and allowed me to experience sanctuary in the arms of my lovers and kin. Your heart grew bigger than I realized behind the steel shelter, and your failures were the fertilizer to our becoming. Your delicate nature has shaped masculinity rooted in a softness I cherish, and your desires have made my pleasure easy. You were our first attempt to be something we had never seen. You are how we got here.

In deep love,

Me at 60

2022: Un año para el amor propio

Foto 193701977 / Amor propio © Khosrork | Dreamstime.com

Todes estamos sosteniendo bastantes cosas — y a medida que nos desplazamos por el 2022, sé que la chispa del Año Nuevo puede parecer difícil de alcanzar. Pero siempre he visto esta época como una oportunidad para recordarme las prácticas que me ayudan a liberarme. En lugar de resoluciones, utilizo esta época para reafirmar mi compromiso con la liberación personal. Y este año, el llamado fue al amor propio. El amor propio es la energía que me doy para convertirme en mi propio héroe. Me da permiso para ser curioso con mi historia y abrazar todo lo que he sido.

¿Cuándo fue la última vez que diste espacio a todas las partes de ti misme?

Las partes que celebramos deben coincidir con los momentos que ocultamos. Si mantenemos en la sombra las partes que nos parecen feas, vergonzosas o que nos avergüenzan, limitamos nuestro potencial para experimentar la profunda curación que puede proporcionar la totalidad. No tiene que gustarnos todo, pero sí tenemos que amarlo todo.

He llorado incontrolablemente con mi yo de 7 años, me he vuelto nerd con mi yo de 11 años y, más recientemente, me he reconectado con la ira de mi yo de 20 años. Mis yos más jóvenes me están enseñando el poder de la ternura, la entrega y la recepción. Cuanto más les ofrezco, más libero el perfeccionismo, la cultura de la exigencia y la necesidad de ponerme a prueba a mi mismo. Esta práctica de amor propio me ha dado valor, compasión y una alegría renovada.

Te invito a que utilices esta práctica de escritura como punto de partida para amarte más profundamente. A primera vista, es sencillo: escribe tres cartas desde la perspectiva de tu yo más joven, de tu yo actual y de tu yo future. Estas cartas pueden estar solas o conversar entre sí; hazlas tuyas. Puedes ambientar cada carta con música que resuene con las edades que elijas. Traer libros, fotos, piedras, etc. puede ayudarte a conectar con lo que fuiste, eres y serás. Establece un límite de tiempo de una hora por cada carta.

Cuando termines de escribir, vuelve a las cartas a lo largo de la semana, el mes o el año. Observa tu cuerpo, tu respiración y tu espíritu mientras lees. ¿Cómo te está cambiando la relación con cada edad en el presente? Incorpora las cartas a tus otras prácticas y observa qué medicina puedes ofrecer a todas tus partes.

Ofrezco mi más reciente iteración de esta práctica como modelo. Estoy agradecido a las partes de mí que se han dado a conocer y a quienes serán valientes para probar esto por sí mismes.

. . .

15 de diciembre de 2021

Hola a mi yo de 20 años,

Cada vez que intento hablar contigo las palabras se me atascan en la garganta, los huesos y la respiración. La verdad es que he hecho todo lo posible para olvidarme de ti. Para empujarte a un lugar, donde nadie te encontrara, especialmente yo. Fuiste demasiado débil para mí, permitiendo que tu corazón fuera moldeado por las mentiras que te alimentaron. Tu presencia no encaja en mi imagen actual de persona muy capaz, impulsada y apasionada. Estabas atrapado en el fango de la recuperación de una vida de traumas. Representabas los dramas de cada episodio de 90210, pero no llegabas a ninguna conclusión empoderada. Eras una herida abierta, insegura de casi todo. Pensabas que tu dureza, tu distanciamiento y tu carácter de rascacielos ocultaban estos defectos; yo no estoy tan seguro. Mi memoria te ve como madera a la deriva golpeada por el océano, suplicando ser rescatada.

Y ahí está el núcleo de mi descontento contigo. Querías que te rescataran. Querías que alguien se diera cuenta de que te estabas desangrando y que cauterizara la herida. Ansiabas que unos brazos te sostuvieran mientras te convertías en cenizas. Querías que todo se detuviera -la escuela, el trabajo, el ser- y simplemente permitir a tu Espíritu un respiro de tener que hacer constantemente. Caíste preso de los momentos de ternura que se te ofrecían, convirtiéndolos en patrones de anhelo que aún estamos tratando de romper. Empezaste a escribir un nuevo guión que nos presentaba como una víctima, feo e inmerecido. Estabas convencido de que podías reprimirte en un nuevo molde. Creaste los muros de acero en la parte delantera de mi pecho, para que no pudiera sentir el amor sin obstáculos. Fuiste tú quien decidió que era necesario apagar mi sexualidad, mi placer y mis deseos. Fuiste tú quien metabolizó nuestra mariconería como vergüenza, y nos encerró en una historia de soledad. Fuiste TÚ.

Fuiste lo más débil de mí. La parte de mí que aún puede emerger cuando mis hilos están a punto de romperse. Tienes una extraña habilidad para crear el caos, para sumergirme en tu línea de tiempo y desbaratar mi proceso. Así que te escribo esta carta para pedirte que pares. Que consigas lo que necesitas sin hacerme pagar tu inmadurez. Ya he sufrido bastante tu impaciencia, tu comportamiento precipitado y tu naturaleza idealista, ¿no es así?

Sinceramente,

Yo a los 40

. . .

15 de diciembre de 2001

Querido Yo a los 40,

Me gustaría poder enfadarme contigo. Que pudiera sentir la bola caliente de rabia creciendo en la boca del estómago. La idea de que yo tuviera acceso a cualquiera de las cosas que me escribiste es casi para reírse. Nada me ha preparado para tener 20 años y estar solo. ¡Estoy tratando de ser normal! Este mundo de blancura y riqueza parece tan extraño, y cada día encuentran formas de recordarme que soy la anomalía. Si no es la música que suena en la radio del coche para ir a desayunar a medianoche, es la forma en que todes les demás parecen haberse aculturado rápidamente al pensamiento occidental. Así que, sí, me siento más que un poco perdido y me agarro a cualquier cosa para ser rescatado.

Puedo sentir destellos de ti a veces, escudriñándome desde la distancia de tu evolución. Pero no estoy seguro de que puedas verme. Mi respiración es dificultosa, mi corazón es pesado y mi cuerpo está cansado. A veces, todo lo que puedo hacer es atravesar el día de clases, el trabajo y tratar de ser normal. Me estoy comiendo a mí mismo por dentro, ocultando mi homosexualidad a diario. Vivo sólo para sobrevivir. Sí, me enamoré de la persona equivocada. Las únicas lecciones que aprendí sobre el amor estaban envueltas en una bola de utilidad, escape y abuso. Esta primera vez ha replicado eso en más formas de las que puedo sentir. Permití que me consumiera. No se sentía como una elección sino como una compulsión a sentir cualquier cosa, como todo lo demás. Cuando estaba con ella era un respiro de todos los lugares en los que me sentía perdido. Me permitía verme como algo más que roto. Su toque me rescató. Tú ves eso como debilidad. Yo lo llamo supervivencia. Tal vez ambos estemos equivocados.

Sinceramente,

Yo a los 20 años

. . .

15 de febrero de 2041

Querido Yo a los 20,

El otro día me acordé de tu risa por primera vez. Te pido disculpas por las veces que te culpé de nuestra vergüenza. Veo la sabiduría en tus estrategias de apagar, esconder y fingir. Protegías las partes más queridas de nosotros de la destrucción. Entiendo que estabas viviendo la angustia de las traiciones que aún no habías aprendido a nombrar. Mi rabia ha remitido, y cada día practico simplemente contemplarte: tu torpe feminidad, tus súplicas en forma de oración y tu disposición a amar cuando no sabías cómo hacerlo. Hay algo en tu inocencia, a pesar de todo lo que has enfrentado, que admiro. Me recuerdas constantemente que debo empezar de nuevo.

Estoy aquí para rescatarte, para curar tus heridas y acunarte en mis brazos. Me conjuraste como tu lugar seguro para rabiar, llorar y recordar. Tu debilidad me enseñó la humildad y me permitió experimentar el santuario en los brazos de mis amantes y familiares. Tu corazón creció más de lo que creía tras el refugio de acero, y tus fracasos fueron el abono de nuestro devenir. Tu delicada naturaleza ha dado forma a una masculinidad arraigada en una suavidad que aprecio, y tus deseos han facilitado mi placer. Fuiste nuestro primer intento de ser algo que nunca habíamos visto. Contigo hemos llegado hasta aquí.

Con amor profundo,

Yo a los 60 años

--

--

Emanuel H. Brown
The Reverb

Emanuel is a Black Trans* leader in healing/arts/spiritual (HEARTS) Justice and believes radical wholeness is a path to freedom. @emanuelhbrown