The Dreamy Astrology of Spring

The defining astrology event of 2022 as it relates to dreams

Sophie Garcia
The Reverb
4 min readMar 25, 2022

--

For many, the shift from Pisces season into Aries Season is a transitional time of reflection, less active than others as the world prepares for the vernal equinox, which brings Spring in the Northern Hemisphere and Autumn to the South. Right now, Jupiter–an expansive planet of abundant faith–and Neptune–dreamy planet of divine love–come closer and closer together in their home sign Pisces, forming their exact conjunction on April 12th. This hasn’t happened in 13 years–and as it does, it becomes more and more important for all of us to give ourselves permission to dream freely, like these celestial bodies do, both in waking life and in sleep.

2021 was the year I bought my first bed frame. Having yearned for a canopy bed since I was a kid, I was shocked at how vividly my fantasies felt materialized within those translucid curtains. Rest is imagination in action. As a creative and spiritual worker in movement spaces–I need that. As someone whose people haven’t had the right to rest on their Native land for generations, I’m owed that. As artists in Western society, we’re taught to commodify every aspect of our lives. But I long to explore the private nooks in my being, enveloped in the warm shadows of my bedroom. And in that spirit, I’m honoring the urge not to create.

This Aries Season, I’d like to remind you that the Gregorian calendar is but one of a multitude of ways to measure time across the world. In fact, some recent “New Years” include the shifting of the years for Indigenous people across Central Mexico on March 12th at 6:45 AM while Spring Equinox in the Northern Hemisphere reflects the blossoming of new life and springing forth of action–and for astrologers around the world, it’s recognized as International Astrology Day, celebrating the Sun’s ingress into Tropical Aries and the beginning of an Astrological New Year. There is always time to start anew.

The word resolution comes from the Latin word “resolvere” which means to loosen and release. For me, that means to loosen the grip fear has on me as I take chances on life and ask “What if it does happen?” To make resolutions and trust that my dreams are truly meant for me–and will always be there waiting for me, even when I take a break. Visually affirming that in between the closure and new growth phases for things like my energy and the phases of the moon, there are build-up and break-down periods that feel like pauses. That taking your time starts in recognizing and owning it as such. Time is a resource, and in the past two years we’ve witnessed a collective shift in the way many perceive it–as more precious than we may have realized, something to avoid wasting on unimportant things. This collective shift has lined up with Saturn–keeper of time–ingressing into revolutionary Aquarius at the beginning of 2020.

Contrary to what social media witches advise, we don’t all need to make a money jar on the Capricorn new moon to attract wealth. It can wait until you feel ready. Whether that’s on the Pisces crescent moon or the Taurus first quarter phase–neither your nor my access to abundance is going anywhere. It’s inherent to our beings as nature–it’s capitalism that is unnatural and makes us feel far from it.

I personally feel closest to abundance in my bed. After dreaming of it all my life, my canopy bed entered my life during a year of major changes and disruptions. The bed which taught me what people meant when they said “I love my bed more than anything!” Having grown up sleeping on motel futons and shelter bunk beds, I never understood that feeling. But this bed, my bed, taught me that dreams do come true. Like the life my partner and I have built, this bed came together from scratch–with love.

It is also important to remember that rest is not accessible at all. As someone who grew up experiencing chronic homelessness, I know that in these seemingly hopeless situations, it can be impossible to access the space needed to really rest and dream–it’s difficult to conceive of stability next week, let alone ‘reimagine new worlds.’

For collective imagination, we need collective rest.

Let’s draw wisdom from Neptune’s position as a generational planet and a symbol of mass consciousness as well as Jupiterean generosity–and practice mutual aid with the aim of making rest abundant for everyone. The importance of sleep–and creating access to rest, expansiveness, and dreaming–makes this Piscean medicine with its exercises in faith and creativity so much more needed after years of Saturnian reality checks and constrictions.

Think back to how you felt on the days a week before or after March 13th when the Sun was conjunct Neptune. As @TheSageScorpio said on Instagram “Sun and Neptune energy is unreal in the sense that it urges us to consider the possibility of what may have felt impossible before.” This Aries Season, with the last week of Mercury in a Jupiter and Neptune-ruled sign and in preparation for the Jupiter-Neptune conjunction that defines the astrology of 2022, remember that anything can happen. That for every outcome you can imagine, the world always has another mystery possibility brewing for you, beyond what you believe can come true. Finally, because of the nature of this transit and its association with substance use and abuse, I also invite you to learn about harm reduction, and practice compassion and support those struggling with addiction, not just this season, but always.

https://www.reframehealthandjustice.com/resources

https://harmreductiontherapy.org/

--

--

Sophie Garcia
The Reverb

Astrology Chisme, Anti-Gentrification, and Retrofuturism from a Gen-Z Indigenous Mexican.