What if ancestors are trees

Emanuel H. Brown
The Reverb
Published in
Jul 21, 2022

Since 2019 I have been living on 8 acres of land called Acorn Center for Restoration and Freedom. In a time when we are witnessing the dismantling of the old world and the rapid formation of new, we all need an anchor. The trees here have become my lighthouse in the storm and a portal to expanding my relationship with my ancestors.

The video captured here is a study on these ancestral trees from a Queer Black perspective with footage, photos and sound which were provided by myself and Amber Butts. We hope this meditation brings you closer to your own ancestral trees.

This piece is a collaboration with Reverb writer Amber Butts on the role of trees as ancestors. Read Amber’s piece here.

--

--

Emanuel H. Brown
The Reverb

Emanuel is a Black Trans* leader in healing/arts/spiritual (HEARTS) Justice and believes radical wholeness is a path to freedom. @emanuelhbrown