A Survey of my Favorite 2000s Music

yvan sanchez
The Revolutionist
Published in
3 min readNov 6, 2018

For me, hands down, the 2000s has the best music that humanity has ever spawned. My favorite band, My Chemical Romance, produced their best albums during the 2000s. Here are 10 of my most essential 2000s albums, along with some honorable mentions.

“The Black Parade” (2006) by My Chemical Romance

This is easily, to me, one of the greatest albums ever recorded. After being re-released in 2016, the album is proven to be one of the most tedious albums to record for the band. It is a concept album that revolves around a cancer patient who is being guided through the afterlife. With powerful lyrics and diverse instrumentation, My Chemical Romance’s album has been the soundtrack to my life for as long as I can fathom to remember. Favorite song: I simply cannot choose. I know the entire album from start to finish. I can’t pick just one.

“A Fever You Can’t Sweat Out” (2005) by Panic! At the Disco

Forming the emo trinity of bands that rose to fame in the early 2000s, Panic! At the Disco’s debut album stirred up a lot. This album shot the band into stardom, especially with their hit songs such as I Write Sins Not Tragedies. The band masterfully implements electronic beats in with their music and lyrics to create a fresh, new sound. Favorite song: Time to Dance.

“She Wants Revenge” (2005) by She Wants Revenge

This album is what I would consider being one of the most important goth albums of the 2000s, if not one of the most important goth albums of all times. Favorite song(s): She Loves Me, She Loves Me Not and Tear You Apart (I couldn’t pick just one).

“Crystal Castles” (2008) by Crystal Castles

After modding their keyboards and synthesizers with a sound chip from an Atari 2600, Crystal Castles debuted a sound that they dubbed “electronic punk.” Former lead singer of the band Alice Glass even went as far as to say that she does not listen to electronic music nor does she understand it. With everything from the production to the music videos done by the band themselves, Crystal Castles remains one of the most important electronic albums to date. Favorite song: Vanished.

“Discovery” (2001) by Daft Punk

A dramatic departure from the French house/dance music that the French duo produced for their 1997 debut Homework, Daft Punk takes a more pop-based approach to electronic and house music. Along with this, the album serves as a soundtrack for a Japanese film, called Interstella 5555: The 5tory of the 5ecret 5tar 5ystem. The film has no dialogue with minimal sound effects, yet the entire album is played throughout. The film runs for 1 hour and 2 minutes, while the album itself runs for 1 hour and 1 minute. This makes the film and the album a perfect match for each other. Directed by Daisuke Nishio (who rose to fame for being the original director of Dragon Ball), this is one of the many various film endeavors Daft Punk has gone on. Favorite song: Veridis Quo.

“The Fame Monster” (2009) by Lady Gaga

A rapid re-release of Lady Gaga’s debut album The Fame. The Fame Monster comes with extra songs. Quite frankly, this is one of the most perfect pop albums that I have heard. Gaga is the Madonna of my generation and I have fond memories of her music from my childhood. Favorite song: Alejandro.

“Humbug” (2009) by Arctic Monkeys

A smoky, California-inspired album that was very different for the British band Arctic Monkeys. Favorite song: The Jewellers Hands

“The Resistance” (2009) by Muse

Beautifully crafted with an amazing blend of rock mixed with electronic music. Matt Bellamy’s falsetto vocals paint a picture of the apocalypse, totalitarianism, the future… and still fighting for love in an age where love does not exist. Favorite song: MK Ultra.

“Turn On the Bright Lights” (2002) by Interpol

All the words in the world cannot suffice what this album has to say. Dark, rich and beautiful; Masterful and amazing lyrics, there is too much to say. I have done an in-depth analysis and review of this album where you can find “here” (I will include a link to the review). Favorite song: Leif Erikson.

“Vampire Weekend” (2008) by Vampire Weekend

One of the most classic indie albums of all time in my opinion. It really guided in a new era of indie music that would be introduced in 2009 and then peak in 2013. Fight me on this. The album focuses on the many happenings of college life, seeing that the band met at Columbia University. Favorite song: Campus.

--

--