Humans of Reno: An Athletic Trainer Dreaming of the Major Leagues

A photo, audio story by Adryana Martinez

Reynolds Sandbox
The Reynolds Sandbox
2 min readJan 31, 2019

--

Michaela Massa is a 19-year-old currently attending the University of Nevada, Las Vegas for its athletic training program. The Reno native considers herself lucky for the opportunities her hometown has been able to provide her in relation to sports and travel.

A Love of Sports and Travel

Massa has played a wide array of sports throughout her life, beginning with soccer at three. She was first introduced to the world of professional sports during her freshman year of college when she secured a job working for both the minor league baseball team the Reno Aces as well our local soccer team Reno 1868 FC.

“I really saw what athletic trainers do and I decided that’s what I want to do with the rest of my life,” Massa said. “It allows me to keep sports in my career and it’s something that I really love.”

Massa has also traveled to over 15 different countries and became fluent in Spanish due to her travels. She says Lake Tahoe will always have a special place in her heart because of all the memories she made there while growing up.

“Anything outdoors or associated with sports is something that I do and I will always have that aspect to my life,” Massa said.

With seven total and counting- Massa views her tattoos as an extension of herself. The tattoo viewed on the right (left forearm) is a compass with the continents inside to represent her love of traveling.
Massa’s dream job is to become an athletic trainer for her favorite MLB team, the San Francisco Giants.

Photos and Audio by Adryana Martinez shared with Reynolds Sandbox

--

--

Reynolds Sandbox
The Reynolds Sandbox

Showcasing innovative and engaging multimedia storytelling by students with the Reynolds Media Lab in Reno.