Humans of Reno: Payton, Giving Smiles with Music

Reno native Payton Talbott realized that he wanted do something more with music other than just play it in his room. As Brianna Beesley reports, he is now getting a psychology degree at the University of Nevada, Reno, because he wants to understand how people’s emotions work, and how music can help people who are struggling with mental illnesses.

Reynolds Sandbox
The Reynolds Sandbox
4 min readFeb 26, 2018

--

Payton Talbott, 19, is a University of Nevada, Reno student who is majoring in psychology and minoring in music. His love for music started when he was eight and eventually turned into the ultimate hobby for him.

Getting the Runner’s High

Talbott thinks that music can affect a person’s mood. For him, it’s the same as what people refer to as the “runner’s high.” He first learned to play an instrument when he was eight — the trombone. “I was just awful at it,” Talbott said, so he switched to strings.

If You Fail Once, Try Again

Guitar was the first instrument that Talbott really threw himself into after his failed attempt with the trombone. “I think it’s what allowed me to really understand and appreciate music,” Talbott said.

Always Better on Vinyl

Listening to music is just as therapeutic for Talbott as playing an instrument is. His record collection includes the Doors, Pink Floyd, Neil Young, Tupac, and the Bee Gees.

Not Your Typical Therapy

Talbott says there is a genre of music for every emotion — it can make you feel one way or another. This is why he believes that some kind of “music therapy” has to be helpful for people struggling with mental illness. “When I’m stressed I listen to music, when I’m sad I listen to music, when I’m happy I listen to music. Sometimes I feel like there is always music playing the background of my life,” Talbott said.

Save The Music

Talbott likes to support nonprofits that aim to restore music education. Save The Music is a nonprofit run by VH1 that uses profits made from selling their merchandise (like Talbott’s shirt) to give money to school districts in hopes of saving their music education programs. “It’s important to me because I’m not really sure how I would spend my days if I hadn’t found music at such a young age,” Talbott said.

The Universal Language

“I like music because it is found everywhere. It gives people a way to express themselves in a language everyone can understand,” Talbott said. Music is not only a coping method in Talbott’s opinion, but it is also an outlet for people to find something they can relate to.

Learn One, Learn Many

Talbott says he taught himself to play the violin in two days. He thinks that once you have a basic understanding of one instrument it is easier to translate that knowledge to all other instruments.

The Ultimate Outlet

Music is such a “judgment-free section of the world,” Talbott said. And that is why he believes it can help people who are struggling in everyday life, and he wants to help as many people as he can with that process moving forward.

Photos and Reporting by Brianna Beesley shared with Reynolds Sandbox

--

--

Reynolds Sandbox
The Reynolds Sandbox

Showcasing innovative and engaging multimedia storytelling by students with the Reynolds Media Lab in Reno.