Humans of Reno: Socrates Brito Gets Call Back to the Big Leagues

Brito was born on September 6, 1992, in Azua in the Dominican Republic. He made his debut for the Arizona Diamondbacks 22 years later and was recently called up again. John Macaluso caught up with him before he left Reno, where he thrived with the Triple-A Reno Aces.

Reynolds Sandbox
The Reynolds Sandbox
3 min readMay 24, 2018

--

The 25-year-old Reno Aces center fielder Socrates Brito hasn’t played in the major leagues since the 2016 season but was recently called up again.

His accomplishments include representing the Diamondbacks in the 2015 All-Star Futures Game. He was hitting .323 for the Reno Aces with 51 hits and 21 RBI this season before his May 22nd call-up. He is hoping he will do better in the Majors this time around. Last go round in 2016, he hit .179 with four home runs and 12 RBI over 40 games.

What is the difference between baseball in the United States and the Dominican Republic?

“I don’t think there’s a big difference. I think there’s baseball everywhere. The thing is that, back in Latin America, people kind of come from nothing and sometimes they don’t have utilities to play baseball. It’s a little hard because you don’t find people to help you. You have to sometimes make it on a team. I think mostly baseball is the same thing here as back there. I think it’s a little harder for us. You just need to keep playing this game and try to make it all the time.”

Where is your favorite place to play?

I mean, my favorite place to play is the big leagues. There is nothing better than to be in the big leagues.”

Is there anything about Reno that reminds you of home?

“Not really. It’s a lot of different here. Reno is a nice place to play baseball. I like it. Lots of places to go, like Lake Tahoe. It’s nice. It’s a nice lake. It’s unbelievable how beautiful it is.”

How did you start playing baseball?

“I just started like, when I was in school and one of my cousins played. He told me a couple times, ‘hey you want to go play baseball or something? You are good.’ So I went and started playing for, like, fun and I liked it and since that day I just keep playing.”

What are some of your non-baseball related goals?

“I mean, mostly just spend time with my family with my friends. I always like trying to find people to talk to and always learning something from the old people too. I think mostly it’s going to be a relaxing at home, watching TV, and playing with my nephews.”

How was life growing up?

“I mean, when I started playing there it was tough for me because there was nobody. So in the beginning, nobody was helping me. I put in, like, a lot of effort to be where I am. So after that, all of my brothers started to help me out and I have to say thanks to them for all the help they gave to me so I can start playing. My father too and my mother. They gave me a lot of support, so that’s something I am to be thankful for.”

Photos and Reporting by John Macaluso shared with Reynolds Sandbox

--

--

Reynolds Sandbox
The Reynolds Sandbox

Showcasing innovative and engaging multimedia storytelling by students with the Reynolds Media Lab in Reno.