In Between Canada and Reno, Not Minding the Snow at All

Lexi Darcy reports about Addy Hunter, a Canadian-born student now enjoying Reno, but missing family across the border to the north.

Reynolds Sandbox
The Reynolds Sandbox
2 min readFeb 14, 2024

--

“I almost went to college in Canada but I didn’t want to lose my chance at citizenship. I have to switch onto a student visa when I turn 21 so I’ll be heading back to Canada this month to see my family,” Hunter explained of the complexities of navigating two country.

Addy Hunter, a sophomore here at the University of Nevada, originally from Medicine Hat, Alberta, is double majoring in marketing and management with a minor in data analytics, while still keeping connected to her birth country.

Addy is a full time student who keeps a busy schedule. She enjoys the winters here in Reno because it reminds her of her younger years.

“A lot of winter activities here in Reno remind me of my childhood because it’s so cold and snowy in Canada,” she said. “Whenever we go skiing or playing in the snow it just brings me back to being little.”

Addy moved to Reno with her immediate family when she was four years old but has traveled back to Canada 40 plus times throughout her life to visit her extended family. All of her grandparents and cousins live in Canada.

“I don’t really get to have that close connection with my grandparents, and that’s one thing I miss the most because it’s so hard to get down there and visit them,” she explained.

She feels the United States has a more diverse vibe, which is one plus for her of being here.

“In Canada it’s all very similar,” she said. “There’s two provinces that have two really big cities, and everywhere else is pretty much the same. But here it’s all just very different.”

One attribute she likes about Canadians though is how polite they tend to be. “ I think Canadian people can definitely be nicer and have more hospitality,” she said.

While still comparing experiences, Addy is excited for the rest of her journey at UNR and plans to stay in the U.S. after college to expand her education and possibly attend graduate school, while visiting Canada when she can.

Reporting by Lexi Darcy shared with Reynolds Sandbox

--

--

Reynolds Sandbox
The Reynolds Sandbox

Showcasing innovative and engaging multimedia storytelling by students with the Reynolds Media Lab in Reno.