Media Tips: A GoPro HERO3 Newbie Films a Mermaid

Reynolds School of Journalism student Lucia Starbuck goes underwater with the GoPro HERO3 for the first time to film “professional mermaid” Megan Parks at the Grand Sierra Resort’s infinity pool.

Reynolds Sandbox
The Reynolds Sandbox
4 min readMay 10, 2018

--

Above a photo of mermaid Megan Parks by Lucia Starbuck from the GoPro HERO3 released in late 2012. The camera now sells for about $110 with the necessary casing. It can go up to 197-feet underwater, has built in WiFi and is capable of capturing video at 4K resolution up to 15 frames per second.

Easy to Operate

The GoPro HERO3 is a small cube that can fit in the palm of your hand. It has two main buttons to shoot videos and photographs. The button on the face of the GoPro labeled with the power symbol switches the modes. Switch between taking photos and videos with this button as well as accessing the WiFi. The button on top takes snapshots.

Be careful, images can get a “fisheye” look to them. When shooting a subject that is submerged under the water, place the GoPro underwater. When the subject is out of the water, position the GoPro above the surface. The lens isn’t polarized so the sun’s reflection on the surface of the water can distort the photograph as well. See effects below.

(Top: taken underwater. Bottom: taken above surface.)

Taking the GoPro Underwater

The GoPro isn’t waterproof on its own. It comes with a housing unit. This is a perfect, lightweight and waterproof case for the GoPro. I do recommend testing the case before going underwater. To do so, close and lock the case then place it in a cup of water. If no bubbles float to the surface you’re good to go!

Keep in mind, the case makes things a bit tricky. The case itself is clear, except for where it covers the buttons. For some reason, I had the toughest time remembering which button is which. I took several embarrassing photos while trying to switch the mode. See my accidental selfie below.

An accidental selfie. Sometimes, you have to learn to laugh at yourself. I don’t look that bad, right?

Challenges I Faced

It is clear I need more practice. Imagine the GoPro as a regular camera. Traditionally, the shutter button would be at the top. I will try to take my own advice.

The GoPro is different than any other cameras I’ve used. It was challenging for me because it does not have a viewfinder. I’m used to lining up the perfect shot, or at the very least, know what I’m shooting. This creates a guessing game and you never truly know what you captured until plugged into a computer. In some pictures my hand, fingers or face blocked the picture. See below.

Top: Photograph I took, hair piece made by Mermaid Megan. My fingers in the way in the lower right corner. Bottom: Me (left) shooting Mermaid Megan (right).

Shooting Video Above and Below Surface

I did not anticipate how hard it would be to maneuver underwater. When shooting while in the water you must put your effort into holding your hands and camera still. In the future I will try to utilize gadgets like a stabilizer to make it easier to hold the GoPro steady.

Mermaid Megan Parks is a traveling professional mermaid. She is an exceptional swimmer and looks elegant underwater. Find her Instagram here: @enchantedtail. Luckily, she was patient with me capturing many shots of her. I didn’t fumble around too much. I’m glad I was able to use the GoPro HERO3 to capture her mermaid magic above and under the water. See video below.

All video above captured with the GoPro HERO3 and edited by Lucia Starbuck.

My Thoughts About the GoPro HERO3

I was highly satisfied with the GoPro HERO3. I enjoyed using the GoPro because it gave me the freedom I don’t usually have with other equipment. I was able to go in the water. I wouldn’t dare going near the water with other equipment. The GoPro HERO3 is a great, fun and safe camera for videos involving water.

I definitely see myself using the GoPro HERO3 in the future. With more practice I hope to stabilize myself while shooting in the water, get a better understanding of what I’m shooting without needing a viewfinder and above all, memorize which button is which. Using the GoPro HERO3 in the Grand Sierra Resort’s Infinity Pool is just the beginning. I hope to take the GoPro HERO3 on more adventures like to a lake or ocean. Being able to shoot underwater has opened more doors for me compared to the limits of a traditional camera.

Final verdict: There is no better way to capture a mermaid underwater than using a GoPro HERO3.

Reporting by Lucia Starbuck shared with Reynolds Sandbox

--

--

Reynolds Sandbox
The Reynolds Sandbox

Showcasing innovative and engaging multimedia storytelling by students with the Reynolds Media Lab in Reno.