10 Great Performances From The Live Aid Concert In Philadelphia

Buddy Gott
The Riff
Published in
6 min readJul 15, 2021

--

Photo Credit: Electric Factory Concerts

Whenever July rolls around, I think about the legendary Live Aid concert that took place on July 13, 1985. As you probably know, the event took place at both Wembley Stadium in London, England and JFK Stadium in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA.

I’m very happy to say that I was there at JFK that day. In addition to still being honored to have been a small part of the effort that helped the starving people in Ethiopia, I’m also still excited about the many wonderful music acts I saw that day. It was not only the best concert I ever went to, but it was also one of the best days of my life.

In no particular order of preference, here are ten of my favorite performances from that day. Although the London part of the event also contained many fantastic acts, these ten took place right in front of me in Philadelphia.

Note: These videos below are all from the official Live Aid channel on YouTube. Whenever their videos are watched, they earn money for the official foundation and those funds then go to help people in need. Personally, I think it’s wonderful that they’re still helping people 36 years later.

Now, on with the music.

--

--

Buddy Gott
The Riff

Lover of music, tv, books, and movies. Host of the GOTTA POP podcast.