MUSIC SERIES

90 For The 90s

90 of the greatest Alternative, Grunge, and Hip-Hop albums of the 1990s, one record at a time. First up, Ritual de lo Habitual by Jane’s Addiction

Rob Janicke
The Riff
Published in
8 min readApr 12, 2023

--

Album #1

Jane’s Addiction — Ritual de lo Habitual (released on 8/21/90, Warner Bros. Records)

Welcome to the “90 For The 90s” series. Along with an accompanying video on social media, I will be discussing my list of the 90 greatest albums of the 1990s. Why do this, you ask? Good question…

As we know, lists (especially about music) are quite subjective, and I have no chance of pleasing everyone who will follow this series. I know some will agree with certain albums, some will yell at me for leaving certain ones off, and others will debate with me about my take on many of the records throughout the series. All of that is perfectly alright with me. I love talking about this stuff, and I’m very interested in the feedback I know will come my way.

This idea was born when a good friend of mine recently asked me to compile my Top 50 alternative, grunge, and hip-hop albums of the 90s for a playlist project he was involved in. Once I made my list (it wound up being over 60 albums), I realized I still listen to many of these records…

--

--

Rob Janicke
The Riff

Former indie record label owner currently writing my first book, SLACKER - 1991, Teen Spirit Angst and the Generation It Created. Follow me on IG @rob_janicke