A One-Man Rock Renaissance

We need to talk about Ty Segall

Grace Ombry
The Riff
Published in
7 min readAug 28, 2021

--

Ty Segall shredding at a festival (screenshot).
Ty Segall shredding at Pickathon 2013. Author’s video screenshot ©KEXP

If there is a contemporary rocker worth your attention, it’s this guy. He does it all: hard rock, psych rock, ‘70s-style glam, sludge metal, grunge, thrash, garage rock, dream pop, folk-rock, and covers.

Segall is a mega-gifted songwriter, a multi-instrumentalist, and possibly the hardest-working musician in modern rock. His talent and openness to collaboration attracts a dazzling constellation of gifted musicians into his musical orbit. Spotify puts me in the top 1% of his listeners, but I’ve yet to reach the bottom of his piles of albums, singles, and side projects. He released yet another stellar album, Harmonizer, just this month.

The only problem with Segall (pronounced seagull) is that his vast musical catalog can be daunting to new listeners. Wading in is entirely worthwhile, but that doesn’t make the prospect any less intimidating. For the uninitiated, I’ve pieced together a Spotify playlist linked at the end of this post.

The songs I’m suggesting are listed in order of release date: I can gush about music all day, but I’m not big on ranking the tunes I love. It’s subjective and can change with my mood.

Segall has so many LPs that I had to self-impose some limits on this list. I’ll offer one standout track and possibly an honorable…

--

--

Grace Ombry
The Riff

Pop culture maven about town, author of the novels Smokin' & Cryin' and State of Love & Trust. Here to get ignored by a much wider audience.