Album Review | ‘Broken Bracelet’ by Michelle Branch

Michelle Branch’s debut displays her ability to write pop-rock earworms.

Z-side's Music Reviews
The Riff

--

The artwork for Michelle Branch’s debut album, Broken Bracelet. (Photo from Spotify)

Titling Michelle Branch’s debut album Broken Bracelet may have been a premonition of her soon-to-be success. She titled the album after a gift she received from co-writer of Jewel’s “You Were Meant For Me” Steven Poltz:

“‘Broken Bracelet’ refers to the bracelet pictured on the front of the CD… It was given to me at a Lisa Loeb show by Steven Poltz (who co-wrote ‘You Were Meant For Me,’ with Jewel). He told me to put it on and not to take it off, since if it ever broke, that would mean I would be famous.” — Michelle Branch via The Red Rock Review (2001)

Cut to a year later; Branch is signed to Madonna’s Maverick Records with several successful singles. This jumping point shows a lot of promise Michelle holds as a songwriter. While some tracks have a fledgling lyricism, many display a skill beyond your average 16-year-old. Four of the songs on this release find their way over to her major label debut, The Spirit Room, including the third single, “Goodbye to You.” Stylistically, you can hear the inspiration Branch took from artists like Lisa Loeb and Jewel throughout this record.

I thought I would visit the 4 tracks that would be re-recorded on The Spirit Tracks

--

--

Z-side's Music Reviews
The Riff

Welcome to my personal blog. This is a place where I discuss any of my musical finds or faves. Drop in and have a listen.