Album Review | ‘New Blue Sun’ by André 3000

High Science

J.C. King
The Riff
Published in
3 min readNov 17, 2023

--

Photo by Greg Rakozy on Unsplash

Any release from André 3000 is considered to be highly anticipated even his features on random tracks, but with his first solo album being released after seventeen years, I believe that he might’ve struck gold with this concept album.

I call it a concept because, due to the current state of Hip-Hop, we’re led in so many different directions, and as artists — our sole responsibility is to create something unique and beautiful, all while reflecting on what’s happening in the world today. New Blue Sun, to me, contains the subject matter of anything relative to esoteric knowledge.

So, without further ado, let’s get into it!

New Blue Sun

As you all know, I’m a huge fan of music and all of its genres and subcategories. But as of late, I have been yearning for something more insightful and possibly a bit broad so that I can truly create something even I didn’t know that I could possibly do.

I listen to Jazz/Hip-Hop, and even R&B when writing because it helps me concentrate and puts me in a zone, but even with those being some of my favorites, I still look outside of my own culture and our influences for inspiration.

Ironically enough, anything to do with high science or esoteric knowledge…

--

--