Album Review | ‘Stories from the City, Stories from the Sea’ by PJ Harvey

Harvey’s opener for the new millennium is a true zenith of her melodic and lyrical genius.

Z-side's Music Reviews
The Riff

--

A promotional photo of Harvey during the Stories from the City, Stories from the Sea photoshoot. (Photo from adsupermk.xyz)

Harvey has always been one to push the boundaries for herself. Her prior album, Is This Desire?, displayed a darker conceptual side. Her work with trip-hop artist Tricky continued to play to this side of moody, deep lyricism that drew from many literary sources.

After working with Hal Hartley in his film The Book of Life, she began setting a new path in her sonic structure. Inspired by the cosmopolitan landscape of New York City, Polly embarked on what she would dub her “pop” record.

She spoke with the Los Angeles Times about the impact the New York had on shaping this album:

“New York certainly gave me a different kind of energy. I do think that has permeated to some of the music. I had long wanted to [live there]. I made a film with Hal Hartley in New York, and I realized at that time what an inspiring sort of place it felt to me. I can remember even when we were filming, I was writing songs, some of which ended up on this record. I just felt very inspired.” — PJ Harvey via LA Times (2000)

She has maintained in interviews that the record isn’t her “New York album,” but…

--

--

Z-side's Music Reviews
The Riff

Welcome to my personal blog. This is a place where I discuss any of my musical finds or faves. Drop in and have a listen.