Album Review | ‘That! Feels Good!’ by Jessie Ware |

Jessie Ware further polishes her throwback disco sound taking it to new heights on her 2023 release.

Z-side's Music Reviews
The Riff

--

The artwork to Jessie Ware’s 2023 album That! Feels Good! (Photo from Genius)

Jessie Ware has pioneered a modern disco revival with her last album, What’s Your Pleasure? Everything sounded extremely fresh, yet paid homage to its source material beautifully.

It was the energy that “Remember Where You Are” that was the catalyst for the upbeat, disco diva sounds of this project:

“I knew the next record I wanted to make as soon as I finished [the single] ‘Remember Where You Are’. I was like, ‘Right, OK. This feels different to the rest of ‘What’s Your Pleasure?’, and this is the momentum that’s going to drive me forward’. I wanted it to feel loose [and] more joyful than my last album did. There are far more fun moments on it; it’s a different kind of dance record, and maybe more groove-led. It’s going to make you dance, I hope!” — Jessie Ware via NME (2023)

Jessie feels completely at home in the swirl of strings, funky bass, and voices that sparkle like gems in the sun.

We start the record with the titular track, “That! Feels Good!” Jessie brings in the funky side of disco with the sounds of clavinet, horns, and groovy bass that brings to mind Stevie Wonder and Earth…

--

--

Z-side's Music Reviews
The Riff

Welcome to my personal blog. This is a place where I discuss any of my musical finds or faves. Drop in and have a listen.