As The Music Falls Near Us

A 40th anniversary somewhere close to Shepherdstown, WVA

Terry Barr
The Riff
Published in
8 min readJun 29, 2024

--

Photo by Gláuber Sampaio on Unsplash

How we get from one place to another, or to any place, amazes and sometimes unsettles me. As my wife and I sought a place to celebrate our 40th anniversary, a friend of our daughter’s suggested her hometown: Shepherdstown, WVA, and specifically, the Bavarian Inn. And since we were near there already, or rather just three hours away, visiting our daughter, son-in-law, and granddaughter, we figured, why not?

Here are some things to know about Shepherdstown: it’s home to Shepherd University, formerly Shepherd Teaching College; it’s on the Potomac River, and just across said river is Maryland and both Sharpsburg and Antietam. These, of course, are Civil War history buff meccas. As we turned our car around in the parking lot of the Antietam Memorial Cemetery, my wife only half-jokingly asked,

“And who won that war, by the way?”

The answer in these parts isn’t as obvious as you might think, but then these parts aren’t as stereotypical as I would think, either. Driving back through Sharpsburg, I saw two houses next to each other. The first had a prominent T***p flag — a desecrated piece of cloth with the man’s name emblazoned in gold. The next house had a “Traitor Don” photo/banner flying from the front porch.

--

--

Terry Barr
The Riff

I write about music, culture, equality, and my Alabama past in The Riff, The Memoirist, Prism and Pen, Counter Arts, and am an editor for Plethora of Pop.