Beneath the crust of ‘Bread Records’

Charlie Smith
The Riff
Published in
5 min readOct 17, 2021

--

Image provided by Bread Records

As you may know, I love all indie music. I’ve made a playlist from wicked independent artists and also interviewed some of them.

Today, however, we are taking a slightly different approach. We are talking to a record label. I know what you’re thinking. A record label? Charlie, what on earth has gotten into you?

Safe to say that Bread records aren’t your run of the mill record label. No, they are an independent label with a difference. Not only do they promote the few artists they have signed, but they also help promote other independent artists from the local scene in Manchester. They work with promoters to book gigs and host an open mic night.

They might be a record label, but they are featuring and supporting local artists. Luckily I got to catch up with Micheal Webster and ask him a few questions. He’s a hard-working musician, running the label but also an artist as well.

I want to thank him for answering my questions and I hope you will find his answers insightful.

Where did the name bread come from?

I always say that bread is the food of the working class. It’s really simple, great to do the branding with for all the events and features and easily recognisable! I think I originally chose it as it’s a universal food — everyone has eaten toast…

--

--