Bruce Springsteen’s “Born in the USA” is Still Totally Misunderstood Today

Just listen to the damn song

Paul Combs
The Riff
Published in
4 min readMay 11, 2021

--

Image: Columbia Records

“Born down in a dead man’s town, the first kick I took ws when I hit the ground” — Bruce Springsteen, “Born in the USA”

Although I doubt he intended it when they were recorded 10 years apart, today Bruce Springsteen is best known, at least to casual listeners, for two songs whose titles start with the word “born:” “Born to Run” and “Born in the USA.” The first is, in my opinion, the Greatest Song Ever; the second is easily one of the most misunderstood, misrepresented songs ever. And while I can’t prove my first point (you either agree or you don’t), my second point can be both proven and corrected. Let’s do that now.

First a little background for the few out there unfamiliar with “Born in the USA,” though there can’t be many of you given how ubiquitous it is. It’s the title track of the 1984 album of the same name. That album produced seven Top 10 singles and has sold over 30 million copies worldwide. It is also the album that launched Springsteen into superstardom.

As for the song itself, if you consider only the title, the rousing chorus, and the American flag on the cover of the album it’s easy for a casual…

--

--

Paul Combs
The Riff

Writer, bookseller, would-be roadie for the E Street Band. My ultimate goal is to make books as popular in Texas as high school football...it may take a while.