Cryptopsy Albums Ranked

A List of Devastating Releases From One of Canada’s Finest Death Metal Bands

Michael Centrone
The Riff

--

The Metal Breakdown

Montréal’s Cryptopsy have been one of the most inspiring death metal bands in their storied genre. Their haunting style of technical, hyper-blasting, casket-grooving metal continues to captivate listeners for decades.

The Canadian beasts emerged in 1993. I caught wind of them in the late-’90s via overhearing a customer in Lethal Wear (RIP) on St. Marks in Manhattan talking about a myth (or not) of drummer Flo Mounier passing out on stage from blasting faster than anyone on the planet. As a metalhead teen, that story intrigued me, to say the least.

My first experience of being enchanted by Cryptopsy happened when my friend borrowed the Urgentile Exhumation demo from his boy at school. We slapped the cassette into the stereo system in my boy’s roach-infested basement in Queens, NY, and laughed in amazement at Lord Worm’s banshee screams.

From then on, I had to expose myself to the rest of the band’s catalog. They had themselves a fan for life.

So, without further ado, here’s my list of Cryptopsy’s full-lengths ranked from least to most life-changing!

#8) The Unspoken King (2008)

--

--

Michael Centrone
The Riff

Just another domesticated creature whose had their free-range capabilities systematically suppressed | Top Writer in Music