Daft Punk’s Epilogue: A Bittersweet Farewell

Arlington
The Riff
Published in
2 min readFeb 22, 2021

--

From the video for “Epilogue” available on youtube.com

True to form till the very end, Daft Punk announced their farewell today via a striking and for the most part wordless video. In that video, entitled Epilogue, the dance music duo revealed they were splitting up.

Very few groups have been able to achieve the level of success, fame, and influence in the music scene that Daft Punk has, while also seeming to stay completely anonymous. The duo traditionally is seen in public and in videos sporting their iconic robotic costumes and silver and gold helmets. They even sported an “upscale” version of the costumes when accepting their Grammys in 2014.

Their persona seemed to be a statement on fame and the power of anonymity itself. They were content to let their music speak for them.

The duo’s influence has been felt all over music even outside of their specific genre of electronic dance. From Kanye west samples to their collaboration with The Weeknd on Starboy, which resulted in some of my favorite songs, they have left an indelible mark on the industry.

I remember the first time I was introduced to Daft Punk’s music via Interstella 5555, the anime sci-fi movie produced as a companion to their album Discovery. I fell in love with it instantly. (Does anyone remember this by the way? I feel like no one my age does or talks about it!)

Something About Us is still one of my favorite love songs, and I made my Halo: Combat Evolved gamer-tag Shep after one of the film’s characters. Naturally, as is my habit, I went on a spree trying to find as many Daft Punk songs as I could, and I have followed their music ever since. To this day, I have yet to hear a Daft Punk song I have not liked.

Now years later I am saying a bittersweet farewell to the robotic duo. Thank you for everything you’ve done Daft Punk! Your music will not soon be forgotten. I know I will be randomly accessing memories of you, for years to come!

Thank you for reading, if you enjoyed this article you may also like:

--

--

Arlington
The Riff

A young writer simply hoping to tell you the stories, that the world tells him. Poetry | Music | Entertainment