Does Willie Nelson Belong in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame?

I can’t believe anyone’s actually asking that question.

Jeremy Helligar
The Riff

--

Photo: flickr/Mark Runyon/ConcertTour.net

I read an article the other day (one of several I’ve since come across) that singled out the great, legendary Willie Nelson as the 2023 inductee into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame least deserving of the honor.

I was expecting George Michael, The Spinners, and even Missy Elliott to be targets of think pieces condemning the increasing inclusivity of The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, but Willie Nelson? “National treasure” doesn’t even begin to describe him. If there were a Mount Rushmore of country music icons, his head would be right up there beside Hank Williams, Johnny Cash, and Loretta Lynn.

When I told my husband, who was born and raised in Australia, that Nelson was going to be inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, his response was immediate: “Wait. He isn’t in there already?”

If I didn’t keep track of this sort of thing, that would have been my reaction, too.

--

--

Jeremy Helligar
The Riff

Brother Son Husband Friend Loner Minimalist World Traveler. Author of “Is It True What They Say About Black Men?” and “Storms in Africa” https://rb.gy/3mthoj