First Album Reviews: ‘Aerosmith’ by Aerosmith

A look at Aerosmith’s debut album from 1973

Buddy Gott
The Riff

--

Front cover photo from the third-released (and perhaps most famous) cover of Aerosmith’s eponymous debut album. Image source: Columbia Records via discogs.com.

This is the first article in a new series I’m doing that is called ‘First Album Reviews.’ In these pieces, I’ll be writing reviews of the debut albums of singers, bands, instrumentalists, etc. Many of the albums will be very old, but many of them will be more modern releases.

Even though I’ve liked Aerosmith for a long time and have even seen them once in concert, I’m not overly familiar with most of their music.

Sure, like most music listeners, I know and love most of their big hit songs. However, I don’t know their studio albums very well at all. Up until yesterday, the only ones I’d ever listened to in their entireties were Toys in the Attic from 1975 and Get a Grip from 1993.

I heard the band’s legendary song “Dream On” yesterday, and it inspired me to seek out the album it came from. I was a bit shocked when I discovered that it was from Aerosmith’s eponymous debut album, which was released in 1973.

--

--

Buddy Gott
The Riff

Lover of music, tv, books, and movies. Host of the GOTTA POP podcast.