Five Cutt-Throat Post-Hardcore Albums

The essential records for any post-hardcore fan

Alexander Razin
The Riff

--

Source: Metal Injection

In public, my mother’s phone rang with the ringtone of my favorite song. “Isn’t that heavy metal?” one person waiting in line asked.

I’m unaware of what my mom said afterward, as I blew a gasket when someone assumed my favorite song was heavy metal when my mother explained what had occurred. I informed her the song was rock, even though it had scream vocals. Once I finished explaining, I went on a rant about the difference between rock and metal, hoping to enlighten my mom.

One genre or sub-genre I explained had heavier and melodic undertones in rock, post-hardcore. For those unfamiliar with post-hardcore, it’s a sub-genre of hardcore punk that blends rapid and raw instruments with jazz, funk, R&B, metal, pop, and many other genres.

Throughout the years, many post-hardcore bands went the metal route, while others, over time, became poppy.

Not these bands. They stayed aggressive and punishing from the moment they broke up or aged. These five bands have crushing down-tuned guitars, overpowering bass lines, rapid drums, and fast-paced and aggressive yells or screams. These albums began post-hardcore and pushed it forward.

--

--

Alexander Razin
The Riff

Aficionado and connoisseur of obscure and experimental music, movies, and TV. Fictional and nonfictional pieces have their place here, too