Haircut Introduces 9-Year-Old To Rocker Joan Jett

And Women Empowerment

WriterKat
The Riff
Published in
2 min readOct 1, 2021

--

Photo by 🇸🇮 Janko Ferlič on Unsplash

I took my nine-year-old granddaughter to get a haircut a few weeks ago. She wanted a short hairstyle with bangs. She often wears a choker necklace. When the hairstylist was finished. It turned out to be a layered shag with fringed bangs. I told her the hairstyle reminded me of Joan Jett.

“Who is Joan Jett?” She asked. I was happy to introduce her to one of the most influential rockers of my teenage years! I can’t count how many times I sang I Love Rock N Roll at karaoke. It was required listening on sultry summer nights when I felt invincible.

I knew Joan Jett was a teenager when she started an all-girl band called The Runaways. What I didn’t know until I watched her Bad Reputation documentary was all the hell she went through to be a female punk-rocker in the 70s.

I’m so glad Joan Jett was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. She earned it and still uses her influence to fight the good fight.

--

--

WriterKat
The Riff

Writer focused on holistic health, poetry, personal development, spirituality, technology, books, movies, and music.