How I Started Appreciating Classical Music Through Memes

Notes from a personal attempt to understand classical music

Hana Medvesek
The Riff
5 min readJan 31, 2024

--

Source: X, Classic Fm, AI-generated image composition

You know those radio stations that always play classical music?

Every time I stumble on one on my car radio I wish I was one of those people who wouldn’t skip…

One day I want to drive my car blasting classical music like Inspector Morse. Considering I’m 35 and know close to nothing, and there’s 100’s of years of classical music to understand, I better start learning fast.

Source: Shukri Rashid, Podcast on Inspector Morse

So I googled ‘How to get into classical music.’ Not satisfied with any of the beginner guides, I ended up on Reddit. Browsing classical music memes for a couple of hours was the best music lesson(s) I ever had.

Here’s what lessons I learned from classical music memes…

Meme Lesson #1: Beethoven 5

https://www.reddit.com/r/ClassicalMusicMemes/comments/105a416/beethoven_5/

What is the most famous classical piece ever?

Some people would argue about that, but Beethoven’s Symphony Nr. 5 comes close. Not sure what I’m talking about? Listen to the first 10 seconds of this and tell me you've never heard it…

Source: Boston Philharmonic Orchestra; Benjamin Zander, recorded live in concert at New England Conservatory’s Jordan Hall in February, 2019

Ok, so that’s what the meme refers to by ‘DA DA DA DUM.’

But what is a movement?

A longer piece of classical music is often broken up into smaller, bite-sized chunks. It makes it easier to perform and listen to, and provides a bit of contrast. It’s like having a four-course meal instead of loading yourself up with a big plate of cheesy pasta. — Source: Russel Torrance for abc.net

In other words…

(A movement is…) A unit of a larger work that may stand by itself as a complete composition... Most often the sequence of movements is arranged fast-slow-fast or in some other order that provides contrast. — Benward & Saker (2009), Music in Theory and Practice: Volume II

So the meme is saying that the 1st part (starting with da da da dum) is the only part people care about. Hah! Parts 2 and 3 remain forgotten as skeletons deep in the sea. The lesson ends there. But luckily, I scroll down and discover that another user comments on a flaw in the meme:

It seems like the meme missed to mention movement 4. So let’s clear this…

How many movements are there in a symphony?

Google confirms that the user is right; this symphony has four movements. The four-movement is the most common form for symphonies. But there are many ‘exceptions’— such as three-movement, symphonies or not. As an example, Wikipedia mentions a three-movement sonata.

It's funny they mention a sonata because I have no idea what it is either, but I’ve seen another meme that will help…

Meme Lesson #2: Symphony vs Sonata vs.?

https://www.reddit.com/r/ClassicalMusicMemes/comments/jjrjq8/this_one_got_me_good/

Why does Tuxedo Pooh, ‘A Fellow Man of Culture,’ prefer the orchestral sonata? Let’s find out so we can go back and laugh like people of culture ourselves.

What is the difference between a symphony and a sonata?

Well, the answer to that one is easy; a symphony is a sonata. You see, a sonata is a piece, usually in several movements, that has a certain basic musical form; and when that form is used in a piece for a solo instrument, like a piano, or violin or flute, or a solo instrument with piano accompaniment, the piece is called a sonata. Now when the same form is used in a piece for three instruments, it’s called a trio; and for four instruments, it’s called a quartet; for five, a quintet, and so on. But when this form is used in a piece for a full orchestra, it’s called a symphony. Simple. A symphony is merely a sonata for orchestra. — Source: Amazing lectures by Leonard Bernstein (!)

So, to interpret the meme, I can repurpose Bernstein’s quote and say…

An orchestral symphony is merely a fancy name for a sonata.

This gets me intreseted in other ‘types’. A Redditor’s post jumps in as a good source for more information (to explain like I’m 5)…

A symphony is a large work, commonly four movements long.
A sonata is also often four movements, though for any single instrument. The first movement must have a specific structure to qualify.
A series of any movements for any instrument is called a suite.
A concerto is a work for a soloist backed by an ensemble like a symphony orchestra or string quartet. — Source: Kevz417, ELI5

Ok, that’s already a lot. Let me see if I get any of this...

  • When the whole orchestra is playing, it’s a symphony. (I suddenly realise why I hear about the X or Y symphony orchestra.)
  • If a solo instrument is highlighted in the piece (gets most attention), but at the same time accompanied by an orchestra, it is a concerto.
  • If a solo instrument is playing solo - or accompanied by another instrument (but not an orchestra), it would likely be a sonata. (Duet = 2, Trio = 3, Quarter = 4, but full orchestra = Concerto).
  • That leaves the suite rather undefined in my head for the moment (except for the hotel suites), but I am starting to grasp these terms, so I decided to stop here. Any help is appreciated (feel free to comment!)

My current goal is not to grasp the most ‘types’ or learn exact definitions. As it is in life, the definitions are likely not even that strict (am I right, musicians?). I’d like to be able to interpret the title of a piece a bit better.

For example, if I see the word ‘concerto’ now, I will know better what to expect…whether it’s on the radio or in a concert hall. Nice. Can I put on a tuxedo yet?

What’s coming? More memes

A piece of information in the above quote on sonata stood out for me: The first movement must have a specific structure to qualify (as a sonata).

Specific strucutre of movements…interesting. A quick Google search says there are more ‘recipes’ (structures or formulas) for making compositions. Probably knowing those helps appreciate a big piece of work like a symphony so much better. Luckily, I found a meme on this topic. So, I plan to write a second part with more lessons.

But please tell me, did you learn something new from this? What was it?

*For any musicians, musical theorists, or aficionados reading this, please feel free to correct any mistakes or misinterpretations. Just write the feedback in the comments. I really don’t know what I’m talking about.

--

--