I’m Going to Listen to 100 New Albums in 2022

Who doesn’t love a chaotic New Year’s resolution?

Nia Simone McLeod
The Riff

--

Photo by PNW Production from Pexels

It’s the beginning of a new year babes: 2022! That means it’s time to make aspirational, slightly unrealistic resolutions like listening to 100 new albums in a year.

In 2021, I was in a deep music rut. I spent a ton of time relistening to old music, intoxicated by the nostalgia of it all during a rough year. This year I wanted to shake it up — no Zendaya.

That’s why I decided to take on a challenge that literally no one asked for: listening to 100 new albums in 2022.

Now, depending on your own music listening habits, listening to 100 new albums in a year may sound wild or it may sound like a challenge made for those who shop at Weenie Hut Jr’s.

For me, 100 albums is a number attainable enough to not be intimidating, but challenging enough to invoke my competitive spirit.

Let’s get into the nitty-gritty details!

The details of Nia’s 100 New Albums in 2022 challenge

  1. “New” music just means that the music is new to me. It can come out at any time in history.
  2. If I don’t like a song within one minute, I’m skipping to the next one. The grand point of this…

--

--

Nia Simone McLeod
The Riff

Writer covering whatever piques my interest | she/her | Subscribe to my newsletter: https://ohwrite.substack.com/welcome