Interview: Nelson Bragg (Pt. 2)

A conversation about his final solo album, ‘Gratitude Blues’

S.W. Lauden
The Riff

--

Nelson Bragg was Brian Wilson‘s percussionist/vocalist for 14 years. His new solo album is ‘Gratitude Blues.’

I interviewed Nelson Bragg earlier this year, upon the release of his single, “I Want Love.” His third and final solo album, Gratitude Blues, will be available from Steel Derrick Music on September 30.

Welcome back! And congrats on your new album, Gratitude Blues. First of all, that’s a great title. Where did it come from?

Hi Steve! Thanks very much!

So, I’ve been aware of the use of the word “blues” in non-sad, non-blues song contexts for a long time, Neil Young’s “Vampire Blues,” Lucinda Williams’ album Happy Girl Blues, and countless others. I love the sound of it so I thought of what I felt most these last few years and added “blues” to it. I guess it means that I am a very grateful person but at a cost. I feel great sadness over COVID 19 and the loss of so many people. I’ve done well through it all so….Gratitude Blues.

The lead single from the new album is a cover of Elton John’s “I Want Love.” Why is this song important

--

--

S.W. Lauden
The Riff

LA-based writer and drummer. New essay collection, “Forbidden Beat: Perspectives on Punk Drumming” available for pre-order. Twitter: @swlauden