Join the Riff’s Album of the Month Club

Save the date for June 6, 7 pm ET, details below.

Stanley C.
The Riff

--

Photo by Denise Jans on Unsplash

Greetings Riff Folks!

I hope everyone is having a great hump day. One of the best parts about the Riff community is its multi-platform, immersive experience. We’re not just interested and committed writers, but we’re engaged in one another’s work. I was lucky enough to take part in the Riff’s podcast which aired this week. A couple of weeks ago I also got to participate in The Riff’s inaugural album of the month meet-up. It was a fun and insightful conversation about Van Halen’s underappreciated third studio album Women and Children First.

The four of us talked about expectations about the band, initial thoughts of the album, and all-around hot takes. We also got to know each other better. This was an invaluable part of the conversation.

At the end of the chat, I was picked to select and host the next album of the month club meeting! After a couple of weeks of thought, I didn’t just pick an album, I picked a list of albums. As the club grows and we have more meetings I will pick from this list of albums whenever I’m hosting again.

Now, at the top of this list, and the album for our next club meeting. Drum roll, please…

--

--

Stanley C.
The Riff

Hi there 👋🏾 I'm a music writer that posts weekly essays about albums, genres, songs, and other novel topics in the music world that span across time.