Music Backup And Other Associated Wittering as My Medium Day Contribution.

Victor Field
The Riff
Published in
3 min readAug 13, 2023

--

Photo: Sony Music

For some years now(not an exaggeration), I’ve been falling behind on listening to my new gets.

It’s a mix of things. I was getting multiple soundtracks at once. Plus, any gifted soundtrack from family jumps the queue. Otherwise, I listen to them in the order in which they arrived.

That’s the big drawback of my position on the spectrum. Digital soundtracks that don’t have a physical release (or at least a reasonably priced physical release) are the only exception. Such as the one pictured below. As I thought, until I found out there is a physical release on a decent format (compact disc. Vinyl lovers, don’t come for me. That’s just my view.) It’s not nearly as annoying as the.. well… clusterfuck that was Walt Disney Records’ handling of the Indiana Jones and the Dial of Destiny soundtrack album. I preordered the CD from their online music shop. I know it has a proper name; I just don’t want to use it.

I also bought it digitally to get around any CD-ripping problems. I haven’t listened to any of my copies yet. My autism won’t let me. But back to Disney’s John Williams disrespect — they decided to make the CD a limited edition.

My guy, you are an independent soundtrack label, you are Walt Disney Records, part of a corporate monolith, and so on. Their failure to let customers know about this particular release strategy It’s all part of the cosmos deciding Dr. Jones’ adventures don’t deserve the extensive musical treatment given the expanding Star Wars universe. (That’s tinged with bias, my having never been a real fan of that galaxy, far, far away or its spinoffs.

Even when Disney didn’t own the Man with the Hat, there’s some of that problem. Remember when Indiana Jones and the Crystal Skull came out? Concord got fans to get that movie’s soundtrack twice; they cunningly put out Indiana Jones: The Soundtrack Collection (pictured below), which lured you by featuring previously unreleased music… implying that would be what fans had hoped for…And it included the same Indiana Jones and crappy CGI Simians soundtrack we already had.

Still, it was great to get this package for Christmas, but like Indiana Jones and The Last Crusade, it was a letdown. I like Indiana Jones and The Temple Of Doom; what can I say?)And no additional music from the then-new one (Try and find a John Williams fan who prefers the Concord presentation to the DCC version of Raiders Of The Lost Ark; I’ll wait.

Mutt isn’t the most irritating thing to happen to the series. (And neither was Willie Scott, by the way.)

Mutt isn’t the most irksome thing to happen to the series. (And neither was Willie Scott by the way.)

To bring this unfocused ramble back to where it started.. I preordered the CD of Daniel Pemberton’s music which I won’t get listen for… until next Medium Day.

--

--

Victor Field
The Riff

"If you’re in your 40s, you can claim all you want that Prince provided the soundtrack to your childhood—but it was really Mike Post." -Not me.