My Favorite Moments From Hulu’s “McCartney 3,2,1”

Volume One: Episodes 1–3

JL Matthews
The Riff

--

Paul McCartney at a dedication ceremony.
Image Credit: s_bukley / ShutterStock

Ernest Hemingway once said, “Write one true sentence.”

Well, here’s one from me: The Beatles are my favorite band.

Not very original, but hey, it’s still true.

And it’s the reason I tuned in for Hulu’s McCartney 3,2,1.

After binge-watching the first three episodes, I’ve taken a break to gather my thoughts. Here are my highlights:

The Pictures and Videos

As a bit of a Beatles nerd, one of my favorite parts of the series is a glimpse at pictures and videos I’d never seen before.

In particular, Episode one has some color photographs of John, Paul, and George from the late 50s or very early 60s. They present a terrific contrast to the discussions between McCartney and Rubin, which are shot black and white.

After talking about the brotherly insults he’d trade with John (He’d call John “Four-eyes” and John called him “Pigeon-chest”, ouch), Paul talks about how he played piano at family gatherings and how he assumed everyone had nice families who got along well.

This all leads to a great video of the band miming “We Can Work It Out” on a TV performance. As Paul sings lead, John pulls…

--

--