My Top 20 Favorite Thomas Bergersen Compositions

For fans of epic and cinematic music

Lark Morrigan
The Riff
Published in
6 min readAug 17, 2022

--

Merve Sehirli Nasir, via Unsplash

Thomas Bergersen has been my favorite composer since I was in high school. I agree that Hans Zimmer is a genius, but I listen much more to Thomas Bergersen’s compositions. Every time I listen to one of his pieces, I am blown away by how he came up with a particular melody, how distinct it is, and how it still aligns with his signature sound.

Thomas is best known for being part of Two Steps from Hell, a soundtrack music production company based in Los Angeles. Though he and Nick Phoenix release albums together through Two Steps from Hell, they compose their pieces separately. Thomas has his solo albums as well.

Selecting my favorite pieces by Thomas Bergersen was challenging since he is a prolific and consistently excellent composer. However, asking myself the following three questions helped me decide what to put on my top 20 list:

  • Did the piece grab me instantly the very first time I heard it?
  • After listening to a bunch of his pieces in one sitting, can I name certain ones immediately without looking at the titles?
  • How does it make me feel?

After much contemplation, I present to you my top 20 favorite Thomas Bergersen compositions (and I apologize

--

--