Nearly 12,000 Days After Its 1st Single, Pearl Jam Sounds As Strong As Ever On Its Latest Release, “Dark Matter”

I could have used “Over Three Decades” instead of 12,000 days, but where’s the fun in that?

Rob Janicke
The Riff

--

Photo Credit — Pearl Jam Facebook Page

I will go out on a limb and say most musicians would bet against the idea of being around long enough to release music 32 & 1/2 years after their first song hit the airwaves. In the case of Pearl Jam, a staple of American music and member of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, not only have they lasted over three decades, but their latest single, “Dark Matter” (title track off the band’s 12th studio album due out on 4/19/24 via Monkeywrench/Republic Records) has the energy and feel of its earliest material which is a bit of a departure from some more recent releases.

Beginning with a rolling Matt Cameron drum beat, followed by a heavy and infectious guitar riff, “Dark Matter” immediately tells the listener they’re in for a raucous ride. For the sake of full transparency, I’ve been a Pearl Jam fan since the start, nearly 12,000 days ago, but haven’t always been excited after hearing a new single. Sometimes it takes a while for a song to hit me and although it’s rare in the case of Pearl Jam, sometimes I wound up not liking a song at all. I’m a fan, but I’m objective. “Dark Matter,”

--

--

Rob Janicke
The Riff

Former indie record label owner currently writing my first book, SLACKER - 1991, Teen Spirit Angst and the Generation It Created. Follow me on IG @rob_janicke