Neil Diamond: A Musical Legacy That Keeps Growing And A Painful Parkinson Diagnosis.

Alejandro Suárez Basso.
The Riff
Published in
7 min readApr 9, 2023

--

Neil Diamond. PHOTO: LARRY MARANO/SHUTTERSTOCK

Neil Diamond, the legendary entertainer, is speaking up about his Parkinson’s disease, a degenerative and irreversible neurological condition. The 82-year-old singer-songwriter was diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease in 2018 and recently revealed his treatment with CBS Sunday Morning.

WATCH:

The composer of “Sweet Caroline” stated he only acknowledged the truth of his illness in the “past few weeks” and that accepting it has been a journey.

“I’m still doing it. And I don’t like it. This is the hand that God’s given me, and I have to make the best of it, and so I am,” (…) “calm has moved [into] the hurricane of my life, and things have gotten very quiet, as quiet as this recording studio. And I like it. I find that I like myself better. I’m easier on people. I’m easier on myself. And the beat goes on, and it will go on long after I’m gone.”

Diamond then continued to describe his feelings about the disease and the struggle that represented for him to accept his…

--

--

Alejandro Suárez Basso.
The Riff

Independent Writer / Reporter (English & Spanish). Serial Entrepreneur. Talking about marketing, business, music and culture issues.