Perfect Albums: Appetite For Destruction By Guns N’ Roses

Albums that I listen to the whole way through

Hogan Torah
The Riff

--

Album Cover for Appetite For Destruction

Since the introduction of the LP album format in 1948 by Columbia Records, artists have struggled to put a solid 40 minutes of music together for an album. There’s a couple of hits which sell the album and what used to be called B sides became filler.

I don’t think Guns N’ Roses meant for Appetite For Destruction to be as perfect as it is, but the songs meant to be B side tracks were released as singles and were hits.

AFD is a solid 53 minutes of hard rock. Call me nuts but I fell asleep to this album for 6 years. It’s still a total dirty pleasure. It shouldn’t be. This style of music is out of fashion at the moment, but I can see this CD in 20 years being like a Beatles or Elvis records today.

The album features only one ballad but I don’t think anyone will dispute Sweet Child O’ Mine is one of the best ballads ever. It’s so good you don’t really think of it a ballad. Paradise City is the glue that holds the album together. It doesn’t feel like a 7 minute song. Paradise city is 7 minutes? Almost.

My favorite track from the album was meant to be a B side, Night Train. Dark song it is. I Think About You is the most underrated song. Rocket Queen. ‘Nuff said.

--

--

Hogan Torah
The Riff

Counterculture journalist 💊 humorist 🤪 dark empath 🧿 Google me, I autofill 🕶️