Ranking All 23 John Denver Studio Albums

Get ready for a wild ride

Lark Morrigan
The Riff
Published in
8 min readAug 28, 2022

--

Michael Shannon, via Unsplash

When I first read ’ article “Ranking All 20 Bruce Springsteen Studio Albums,” I immediately knew I would partake in the same challenge but for John Denver albums.

John Denver has more than 23 albums. However, I decided not to include posthumously released albums, live albums, holiday albums, or compilation albums.

One album I really love is Earth Songs and though it’s often included in the list of his studio albums, it mostly has re-recorded versions of previously released tracks, so I left it off this list.

My ranking is entirely subjective and feel free to disagree with my choices (respectfully of course).

23. Dreamland Express (1985)

I wouldn’t hesitate to put this dead last because John doesn’t even sound like himself. Some songs strike me as elevator music, while others seem like a bad attempt at cruise ship dining hall music. The love songs seem more cringe than sweet (sorry for being brutal).

Top three tracks (not a fan of any, but these three are better than the rest on the album)

  1. “If Ever”
  2. “A Wild Heart Looking For Home”
  3. “The Harder They Fall”

--

--