“A Basket of Roses”, used as the artwork for New Order’s Power Corruption & Lies, nationalgallery.org.uk.

Recent Decents #9 — Historical-indie, Art-Synth, Tragi-funk.

Public Service Broadcasting, New Order, Donny Hathaway.

Oliver Norris
The Riff
Published in
3 min readFeb 1, 2021

--

Best served through headphones, these 3 tracks all create their own space in time.

The first track, “Go!”, is from an ambitious album telling the story of the Space Race through guitars, drums and archive audio.

A few times a week, I drag my creaking legs on a 5 or 6-mile run and this song makes me fly. Outside of my head, all the unwanting public can see is my huffing and wheezing but inside, I’m blasting my way to the moon sat beside the Apollo 11 crew.

Typically, there’s not much of my day that’s not accompanied by some form of music but those moments lost in the headphones listening to tunes, like these 3 Recent Decents, stick with you.

1. Public Service Broadcasting, “Go!”, 2014

Documentary-style indie soundscapes from corduroy-clad quintessentially British gentleman depicting a pivotal decade in US history.

--

--