SONG REVIEW

Saving All My Love for A Hit

Marilyn McCoo versus Whitney Houston

Nichola Scurry
The Riff
Published in
4 min readMay 14, 2024

--

A glamorous black woman wearing 1980s clothes.
AI image created by author with Canva (Magic Studio™)

“Saving All My Love for You” is a song about a woman in love with a married man.

Whitney Houston’s 1985 version of this song sold three million copies worldwide. It was the first Whitney song I heard. At 10, I wasn’t really into ballads, but I was still able to appreciate her fantastic voice.

Houston’s version of “Saving All My Love for You” was a cover. It was 5th Dimension founder and Solid Gold host, Marilyn McCoo, who recorded the original version of the song back in 1978.

An original minor hit

American songwriter, composer and producer, Michael Masser, produced “Saving All My Love for You”. Lyricist, Gerry Coffin, wrote the words. Conductor, composer, arranger and producer, Gene Page, came up with the arrangement.

Husband and wife musicians, McCoo and Billy Davis Jr, recorded “Saving All My Love for You” for their third album, Marilyn & Billy. Although “Saving All My Love for You” is…

--

--

Nichola Scurry
The Riff

Australian human living in Barcelona, writing mostly about popular culture with a twist of quirky. If you like my writing, I like coffee. ko-fi.com/nicscurry