Song of the Year

Do you believe in the Divine Feminine?

Charles in San Francisco
The Riff
2 min readDec 25, 2022

--

Screenshot from “Judgement Day”

I was working on a “Best of 2022” list and trying to figure out if I even had a pick for the best song of the year. Then this dropped on Christmas Eve, like a last-minute present, and ended any debate for me.

Normally I give a bit of the background and history of the artists I write about, for readers unfamiliar with them. I will do that for this band in a later post (if you already know about them, congratulations, you are in on a great story.)

For now, know that they went on hiatus in mid-2021 when their founding member and bass guitarist left for personal reasons, and they spent a year searching for a replacement.

This is their coming-out party with the new bassist and the first thing they have released in a year and a half.

Let’s just say, they’ve used the time well.

Lovebites: “Judgement Day”

Please follow me if you want to learn more about bands from across the sea who are reinventing rock.

Thank you to the members of The Riff community who have made this a fun thing to do: David Acaster; Kevin Alexander; Steve Goldberg; Alexander B.; Charlie Cole; Miss Catherine La Grange, spinster; Nicole Brown; Jeffrey Harvey; Terry Barr; Elizabeth Kaldeck Smith; and many more.

--

--

Charles in San Francisco
The Riff

Music blogger, novelty-seeker and science nerd. Most of my writing focuses on women in music, from classical and jazz to rock and metal