Swap-A-Tape: My brief stint buying and selling records.

TheWellSeasonedLibrarian
The Riff
Published in
9 min readJun 8, 2021

--

Photo by Mick Haupt from Pexels
Photo by Mick Haupt from Pexels

My first Job after moving back to San Diego was a surreal experience, one that I will never forget.

When I got out of the Military, I moved to the pacific northwest for a while. I was unable to make a living there, so at my parent's suggestion, I moved back in with them in El Cajon. They were long-haul truckers so they were not home most of the time. My younger brothers still lived at home and while not ecstatic about me moving back with the parents, accepted it well enough.

For no good reason, I had not gotten a driver's license and didn’t own a car. There was no one who was willing to give me driving lessons and I wasn’t pushing it. I was able to ride public transit well enough and got around that way.

I was hoping to get a job with a hospital, as that was my background in the military. Unfortunately, my military training was not appealing to Medical Records managers, and I was unable to get a job at that time. I was starting to get desperate. I had spent the previous two years working in Fast Food and did not want to repeat that.

My brother had a friend who had a friend who owned a record store. He wanted someone who knew music and I fancied that I did. (I didn’t) I went in and interviewed in a shirt and tie and they thought it was hilarious.

--

--

TheWellSeasonedLibrarian
The Riff

Dean Jones is a Librarian, Cookbook Reviewer, and writer. Dean lives in the SF Bay Area. wellseasonedlibrarian@gmail.com