SYSTEM MONTH

System Of A Down From Least Great To Greatest

May my opinion open the flood gates

Alexander Razin
The Riff
Published in
4 min readSep 11, 2021

--

Photo from Upset Magazine.

System of a Down’s disbanding in 2005, and resurgence in 2010 left an impact many in the metal community still talk about. Every year, there isn’t a single person making a list (hey, that’s me) or writing novel-length responses explaining why they love this band. A comment by fellow The Riff writer, Rob Janicke, on my Toxicity anniversary article said, SoaD deserves more credit. Yes, they sure do.

Credit for radio accepting their style of metal; no rock or metal band on the radio sounded like them. System of a Down sprung to life so Five Finger Death Punch can fly. The band reshaped the way mainstream thinks about metal, and their five albums prove it. Seeing how System of a Down may never record another album, I wanted to rank their five albums from least great to greatest. Why least great to greatest; because these albums are good to downright amazing. I had a hard time arranging the list as I’m a massive fan, and System of a Down is my favorite band, so my ranking constantly changes. Yet, I have confidence this is a concrete ranking.

Time to wake up and rank these bad boys.

5. Hypnotize

--

--

Alexander Razin
The Riff

Aficionado and connoisseur of obscure and experimental music, movies, and TV. Fictional and nonfictional pieces have their place here, too